Drastic Error Exporting to QuickTime at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 14th, 2007, 05:03 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 60
Drastic Error Exporting to QuickTime

I'm trying to export a 90-minute timeline "using current settings" to a QuickTime file. It exports fine, is 13GB when complete, but during playback starting around 10 minutes into the movie it seems to drop a frame or two every few seconds, followed by the whole audio being out of sync. By the end, the audio is way off.

Has anyone had this problem? Am I asking too much to export the 90-minute movie in one self-contained file?

Specs:
MacPro running Final Cut Pro 6
HDV video 1280x720, 720p at 23.98fps
Chris Rentzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 05:42 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
I may have done my math wrong, but 13 GB seems way too small for a 90 min movie in 720p. What are your settings? Have you rendered your timeline?
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 05:47 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 239
Prior to exporting did you Mixdown your audio?
Victor Kellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 06:12 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 60
My settings are:

Preset HDV - 720p24, audio 48KHz 16-bit

Yes, I have rendered my timeline, and have rendered the Mixdown. I'm using "Current Settings", self-contained and am not re-rendering.

Last edited by Chris Rentzel; September 14th, 2007 at 10:00 PM.
Chris Rentzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2007, 12:07 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
I had an error just like that (the audio part) a long time ago. I think I ended up figuring out it was an error with 30fps (non-drop frame) and 29.97fps drop-frame. In other words, the audio was running slightly slower than the video and became apparent over an hour.
Might apply in your case, too, but with 24/23.96.

As for not re-rendering... try it. Might help. Who knows.
As for self-contained... try turning it off. If it works, then use quicktime pro (free with FCP if you haven't used that already) to resave as a self contained movie. (File>Save As...>etc, check "self contained")
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network