Best configuration for editing on new mac book pro with cor 2 duo and final cut? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 6th, 2007, 12:19 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 287
Best configuration for editing on new mac book pro with cor 2 duo and final cut?

Now that the new mac book pro has core 2 duo processing what is the best set up for editing hdv on the mac book pro and final cut studio 2 and can I get an hd or blue ray burner installed in the set up. I would like to get some opinions on the best set up in the 6500-7k range. I am using a Gyhd100ua for my shoots. Thanks in advance for your opinions
Gary Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 07:17 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 61
im wondering about the same thing... is FW400/usb2.0 too big of bottleneck? would FW800 make a difference? external raid?
thanks
David Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 08:20 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
400 works fine. 800 is faster, though.
I recommend 7200rpm drives over the 5400 internal drive (ie, an external drive), but that's as much as you'll need, probably.
USB2.0 is about the same as FW400.
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 10:49 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 239
I would avoid USB. I know, I know, people use but I think the vast majority of people who do have probs. Although its speed is faster than FW that speed is delivered in bursts, not suitable for working with video

If you are working with standard DV then a FW 4 external at 7200 rpm would be fine. For HD you would want to go to FW 800 or some kind of eSATA option.

Yes, you can get an HD DVD burner. At this point, there is no direct Blu Ray support for a Mac. You could only use a Blu Ray burner to burn data discs with Toast but you cannot make a Blu Ray "movie" disc. So if you have to have a Hi Def disk, HD DVD is the way to go, it is supported in DVD Studio Pro.
Victor Kellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2007, 12:22 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
USB 2.0 works, but FW is definitely superior when working with Macs, true. It's sorta the other way around with PCs as well.
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2007, 01:42 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 61
i forgot to mention that im PRIMARILY working with hdv material.. 1080i 24f usually.. i edit it mostly at school on the dual 2ghz g5's, so i was hoping that the dualcore 2.2-2.4ghz macbook pro would be a bit better atleast.. i read a review that seemed to state that it was totally workable.. but other user comments on this board have not been very supportive..
i have a 500gig 7200rpm external drive that i use mostly right now.. i could buy an external raid enclosure for a couple hundred bucks but im not sure if its really worth it unless working with several clips at once? like picture-in-picture etc..
David Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2007, 02:14 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 26
You may find yourself tweaking a lot of settings as you go along --- especially in FCP itself. Depending on what you're doing, some fiddling with the Real Time settings, on a sequence-by-sequence basis, may be necessary. I'm running a 2.4GHz new MacBook pro with the wider screen and with 4GB RAM. External storage is a 1TB Lacie FW800.
Now, if you're running plain old HDV, cutting it up and slapping the clips together, you'll no doubt be fine (you may need the additional RAM, though). However, the moment you start doing effects or colour correction (and not even necessarily using Color), things may start to choke. I heard somewhere (and this is hearsay) that 8GB RAM is really what is needed for all of this stuff to run fast, together with at least a fast quad-core.
Perhaps in my next life ...
I've even found that running a denoise and degrain filter on SD footage makes the machine choke a bit. For things that don't really matter, I've now started downconverting the HDV footage (from the Canon HV20 or the A1) in-camera before I capture into FCP. This helps.
The rule I'm now using: two relatively simple filters per clip, max. Even so, things do slow down --- even considerably so.
You may also make some progress with Motion, but that will soon choke as well.
I don't know how complex your projects are, but as someone said to me a while ago: no-one in their right minds would try and use a laptop for serious video work, especially with Motion and Color.
Dunno if this helps. If there is any way that you can lay your hands on one and play around with it, it will be a good idea. If you can't, well, read and ask as much as you can.

Good luck

Carl Mischke
Jo'burg
Carl Mischke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2007, 02:52 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 61
does it make much of a difference if you're editing native hdv or apple intermediate or prores422? or the 'hybrid mode' where it only renders the transitions etc in prores422?
David Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2007, 11:52 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Mischke View Post
You may find yourself tweaking a lot of settings as you go along --- especially in FCP itself. Depending on what you're doing, some fiddling with the Real Time settings, on a sequence-by-sequence basis, may be necessary. I'm running a 2.4GHz new MacBook pro with the wider screen and with 4GB RAM. External storage is a 1TB Lacie FW800.
Now, if you're running plain old HDV, cutting it up and slapping the clips together, you'll no doubt be fine (you may need the additional RAM, though). However, the moment you start doing effects or colour correction (and not even necessarily using Color), things may start to choke. I heard somewhere (and this is hearsay) that 8GB RAM is really what is needed for all of this stuff to run fast, together with at least a fast quad-core.
Perhaps in my next life ...
I've even found that running a denoise and degrain filter on SD footage makes the machine choke a bit. For things that don't really matter, I've now started downconverting the HDV footage (from the Canon HV20 or the A1) in-camera before I capture into FCP. This helps.
The rule I'm now using: two relatively simple filters per clip, max. Even so, things do slow down --- even considerably so.
You may also make some progress with Motion, but that will soon choke as well.
I don't know how complex your projects are, but as someone said to me a while ago: no-one in their right minds would try and use a laptop for serious video work, especially with Motion and Color.
Dunno if this helps. If there is any way that you can lay your hands on one and play around with it, it will be a good idea. If you can't, well, read and ask as much as you can.

Good luck

Carl Mischke
Jo'burg
So what it sounds like your trying to say to me is that using a new Macbook Pro for editing HDV is not the way to go getting a new Mac tower with as much ram as you can afford would be the way to go, but please correct me if Im wrong. Thanks Gary
Gary Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2007, 05:08 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
From my limited experience cutting HDV on a 2GHZ Imac with 1.5gig of ram, of a 7200rpm external drive running FW400, simple cuts etc and moving stuff around the timeline works fine. Grading and transitions will likely need rendering, but the rendering of basic transitions will be pretty quick, so it isn't a huge head ache if you aren't doing finicky stuff and aren't on a massively quick turn around.
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2007, 12:03 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 26
Talking tower

Gary
My advice to you would be to go for the biggest, meanest MacPro tower that you can afford, with as much RAM and as stong a processor as you can dig up the money for right now. Remember that you can add little bells and whistles (or even big bells and whistles) later on --- which you cannot do with the MacBook Pro.
But again, it depends on what you want to do. It does really well if you simply cut and order clips, perhaps do a bit of brightness/contrast or similar. But the moment you want to start getting off the wall with something more creative (to say nothing about Motion) you may find yourself frustrated. You may well find yourself having to render a lower third title overlay (or accept some frame dropping).
I've played around with the render settings and the RT settings for some time, but I have yet to come up with some magical solution.
Just a bit of what I experienced --- naturally (the disclaimer follows): what I experienced may not apply to others, depending on what they're using the MacBook pro for.

Carl
Jo'burg
Carl Mischke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 09:18 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 287
Thanks all for the information I am now looking into getting the Mac Pro tower.
Gary Williams is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network