Soundtrack Pro really can't export properly can it? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 15th, 2007, 07:53 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lace Market, Nottingham, UK
Posts: 194
Soundtrack Pro really can't export properly can it?

I'm exporting a 6 minute multi-track project. Nothing elaborate, nor large use of effects apart from normalize and EQ.

But when exporting to an .aif, the audio at very random points becomes sped up, higher pitch, and on different tracks.

This is an absolute shambles, the audio plays absolutely fine in the timeline, and i'm wondering if there's any way of rectifying this export problem? (other than avoiding soundtrack pro like the plague?)

any help at ALL would be much appreciated.

Neil
Neil Rostance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 08:52 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 247
I personally have never had Soundtrack work for me. return trips with FCP have always been a mess.
Jim Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 09:21 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lace Market, Nottingham, UK
Posts: 194
Such a shame...

It sends the multitrack project out with high hopes then it comes back sounding like a hobo.

can you recommend an alternative to Soundtrack?
Neil Rostance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 09:50 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Is everyone having this trouble and problems?

As someone interested in purchasing FCS 2, this is interesting to know...
Other opinions?
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 03:35 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lace Market, Nottingham, UK
Posts: 194
I run Soundtrack on FCS 2 and the problem is that the concept of it's workflow with FCP is fantastic, which is why i keep going back to it, but it's just NOT ready for release, it just doesn't work properly.

The problem lies with the export, and but the audio plays PERFECTLY when played from the timeline.

With this, there is only one way of making Soundtrack Pro usable at the moment and this is by connecting the audio out jack to the microphone input jack, then playing the audio on the timeline whilst simultaniusly recording the computers output audio.

So i'd also like to hear comments/advice about this absolute shambles also!!
Neil Rostance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 03:55 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Rostance View Post
I run Soundtrack on FCS 2 and the problem is that the concept of it's workflow with FCP is fantastic, which is why i keep going back to it, but it's just NOT ready for release, it just doesn't work properly.

The problem lies with the export, and but the audio plays PERFECTLY when played from the timeline.

With this, there is only one way of making Soundtrack Pro usable at the moment and this is by connecting the audio out jack to the microphone input jack, then playing the audio on the timeline whilst simultaniusly recording the computers output audio.

So i'd also like to hear comments/advice about this absolute shambles also!!
That really is no way of working.
A bit sorry to hear about this... any official complaints? Anyone know if Apple is busy with an upgrade fixing this export-bug?
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 07:13 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 166
Is everyone having this trouble and problems?

I'm not.
But then I'm only ever converting 2-track stereo to aiff. For me, it works fine doing that.
__________________
Michael A Westphal
Michael Westphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2007, 10:18 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Amersfoort, Netherlands
Posts: 85
I've been using Soundtrack Pro a lot from Final Cut Pro, but only 1 clip at a time (so it's not a multi track project in Sound track). Never had a problem.

I haven't tried multi track projects.
Winfried Dobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2007, 09:21 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Rostance View Post
With this, there is only one way of making Soundtrack Pro usable at the moment and this is by connecting the audio out jack to the microphone input jack, then playing the audio on the timeline whilst simultaniusly recording the computers output audio.
I just finished my first project using STP2. I was expecting a lot of trouble, based on what I had read about the new version, but was pleasantly surprised overall. I think it crashed once during the project. No trouble exporting the sound (a 5.1 surround project) at all.

I will proceed with caution, saving often and double checking everything, but at least for now it works for me. If nothing else, surround sound is sooo much easier to do now than it was faking it with the old STP. :-)

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
Martin Pauly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2007, 06:16 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Amersfoort, Netherlands
Posts: 85
Had to use a multitrack project as well today and also ran into the export problems. A search on the internet revealed that Soundtrack screws up if you mix files with different sample rates, or if you try to export to a file with a different sample rate that the audio in your multitrack project.

After converting all my audio clips to the same rate, it now exports ok.

Still a major bug that should have been fixed by now.
Winfried Dobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2007, 06:18 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lace Market, Nottingham, UK
Posts: 194
a hah! a solution!

Thanks very much for that, i'll certainly give it a go.

How is the best way to convert sample rates by the way? What would you recommend? In soundtrack too?
Neil Rostance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2007, 02:45 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Amersfoort, Netherlands
Posts: 85
Yes, converting is quite simple with Soundtrack:
open the file with soundtrack pro
Choose "File | save a copy as.." and in the sample rate combobox choose the right sample rate

Hope it helps for you too,

Winfried
Winfried Dobbe is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network