Am I missing somethng??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2007, 07:25 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 30
Am I missing somethng???

I am confused. I am curently shooting a documentary on both a Canon XH A1 and a Sony HC7. The Canon is shooting 24f the Sony is shooting 30i. I am ingesting them both into FCP 6 on a Mac Pro, 2 different projects, direct from the cameras via firewire.
I have set FCP up to ingest HDV 1080i 24 for the Canon and 1080i 30 for the Sony, I have not "transcoded" anything or "pulldowned" anything but everything seems to be ok. Nice picture, good sound etc.
I have not yet actually cut anything, I am essentially just backing up my original tapes at this point. Am I missing something? So far this seems easier than I thought it would be. Will I get a better final image if I import the HDV footage as someting else Pro Res 422 for example?
Thanks for your insight.
Rich
Richard Siberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 08:56 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Siberry View Post
I am confused. I am curently shooting a documentary on both a Canon XH A1 and a Sony HC7. The Canon is shooting 24f the Sony is shooting 30i. I am ingesting them both into FCP 6 on a Mac Pro, 2 different projects, direct from the cameras via firewire.
I have set FCP up to ingest HDV 1080i 24 for the Canon and 1080i 30 for the Sony, I have not "transcoded" anything or "pulldowned" anything but everything seems to be ok. Nice picture, good sound etc.
I have not yet actually cut anything, I am essentially just backing up my original tapes at this point. Am I missing something? So far this seems easier than I thought it would be. Will I get a better final image if I import the HDV footage as someting else Pro Res 422 for example?
Thanks for your insight.
Rich
You're not missing anything as such, capturing footage as described is easy.

The difficulties you are likely to encounter is when trying to cut together the footage from two different cameras at two different frame rates on the same timeline.
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 10:08 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
Yeah. That's like trying to put square pegs in round holes. You'll need to choose one format and convert the other footage to match.
You might be able to get away with cheating the system while editing, somehow, but the final result, a DVD, web clip, tape master, etc., will be a single framerate, as will be all of its footage.
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 01:47 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 430
Richard,
If you're shooting in progressive (f) on the A1 you need to use the correct easy setup HDV1080 24p to capture this footage. According to your post your currently ingesting the footage as interlaced.
Dom Stevenson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network