Video card in Macbook Pro 15" at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 25th, 2007, 02:44 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Video card in Macbook Pro 15"

Hi,

if I follow the specs on the Apple website, the video card in a Macbook Pro 15" won't be good enough to run Color.
1. Is this correct?
2. If so, can you replace the video card in a Macbook Pro?

Thank you in advance,
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 03:34 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathieu Ghekiere View Post
Hi,

if I follow the specs on the Apple website, the video card in a Macbook Pro 15" won't be good enough to run Color.
1. Is this correct?
Yes, you're reading this correctly. But whether Color actually runs on a 15" MBP is a different matter. Other parts of FCS also run on lesser hardware than Apple's minimum requirements. There's quite a few people here who have a 15" - they should be able to tell you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathieu Ghekiere View Post
2. If so, can you replace the video card in a Macbook Pro?
No, that's not possible.
Dino Leone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 04:42 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Thanks Dino, for your reply.

Well, then my question becomes:
if there is someone with a Macbook Pro 15", working with FCS 2, that could elaborate if Color works or not?
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 11:00 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 157
Mathieu,
I'm running a 15'' MacBook Pro with FCS2 installed.
Color works fine for me. I haven't used it a lot, mainly just goofing around with it. But I did render something from Color and sent it back to FCP and it worked just fine. Hope that helped.
Nate Benson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 11:48 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
My understanding, and also based on a number of discussions you can search for on the board, is that the macbook PRO series is just fine for the whole suite, and apple can confirm this. The macbooks (13" and less) are NOT meant to support FCS, but will support most of it-- just not motion or color, and they miss a few features (mostly filters) in FCP, meaning it's about equivalent to running FCE, plus having DVDSP, STP, etc.
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 03:43 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Thank you for all the replies, they really helped!
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network