Kona Lhe analogue out not working at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 3rd, 2007, 02:38 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Kona Lhe analogue out not working

I have never used the analogue of my Kona Lhe on my Mac but I have just bought a CRT component monitor for SD jobs and nothing is displaying on it through the Kona card. It does work as have tested it other ways, so what is the problem?

Is there something I need to do in the control panel to make it work?

I have it set for 625i secondary format but still nothing. Also if I did get it to work, with your help, can it display SDi out at the same time as component?

Thanks
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2007, 02:51 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
So is it displaying just still frames, or just black?

If it's just displaying still frames, then the video output format in FCP is set wrong. If it's black, you should double check to make sure video output FCP is still on. I apologize if that's pedantic, but I have a friend who's got an LH who came to FCP from Media 100, and he mis-sets that menu all the time.

And yes, the SDI can be active at the same time, although there's limitations on what will go where if you're downconverting.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2007, 02:54 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Hi Nate

Just black

Can't get any test pattern onto the analogue monitor

the sdi output is displaying fine out of fcp and all frames are set to on
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2007, 04:53 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Ok, how about component vs. composite out?
Attached Thumbnails
Kona Lhe analogue out not working-picture-1.png  
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2007, 04:56 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
again, nothing
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2007, 11:08 AM   #6
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Phil,

Here's the settings (NTSC version) that you should have. Your primary settings should match whatever your timeline settings are.

If that still doesn't work then the make sure: A) The hydra cable coming from the Kona card is securely fastened; B) The RGB monitor is properly set to look for inputs from the Kona; C) Hook up the monitor to something other than the Kona to verify the monitor is working properly.

If all else fails contact AJA tomorrow.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC

Last edited by Robert Lane; November 22nd, 2007 at 09:10 PM.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2007, 12:33 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
thanks but it looks like it is all set up fine. There must be something wrong with the card
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2007, 01:56 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
Have you kicked it yet?
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2007, 02:12 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
I have even tried singing love songs to it and still nothing. I would have thought it would have started working just so I would stop singing, but no!

Looks like I have a duff one.
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2007, 10:10 AM   #10
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Phil,

A new thought (albeit unlikely scenario); is the Kona installed on a Leopard machine? AJA hasn't released 10.5 drivers yet - even though they initially were saying that Ver 4 drivers would work.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 04:16 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
how good are Aja?

I emailed them Sunday night and Monday morning (their time), they left a voicemail message and emailed me twice. By lunchtime, after a couple of emails back and forth they said they would send a new one out to me straight away and they did!

They sent it fedex from California Monday afternoon and I will get it tomorrow morning in London.

Now THAT is what I call looking after a customer!!

Well done guys, many companies could learn from your example.
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 09:05 PM   #12
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom View Post
how good are Aja?

I emailed them Sunday night and Monday morning (their time), they left a voicemail message and emailed me twice. By lunchtime, after a couple of emails back and forth they said they would send a new one out to me straight away and they did!

They sent it fedex from California Monday afternoon and I will get it tomorrow morning in London.

Now THAT is what I call looking after a customer!!

Well done guys, many companies could learn from your example.
If only we could get Apple to be so supportive...
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 05:46 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
annoyingly new Kona arrived, still got same problem. Found out it is either cable to breakout box or the box itself. The plain cable works fine!
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network