New Final Cut Express 4 ?'s (AVCHD) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 26th, 2007, 06:13 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
New Final Cut Express 4 ?'s (AVCHD)

As most of you probably know- the new FCE4 is being touted as being able to edit AVCHD footage from the current crop of AVCHD camcorders.
On Apple's site a video shows the AVCHD footage as being "imported" prior to using in the timeline-would anyone know if this is being re-encoded? Why can't the clips be copied to a folder on the Mac's HD and then simply pointed to as the source media for editing? I'm guessing there's some sort of re-encoding being done- anyone have any info on this "import" and what's happening?

I'd like to use footage from the camcorder by simply copying to a folder and editing at a later time- which doesn't seem possible via FCE4. Is this true AVCHD support or a workaround- which isn't too bad but not true "drop and drag" as you'd expect from native editing.

Also- can I assume you can now capture and edit HDV natively without using the AIC codec?
Thanks guys.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2007, 01:54 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 487
According to page 220 of the online FCE4 manual, FCE4, just like FCP6, doesn't support native editing of AVCHD.

It looks like there's no native HDV editing either, page 237 talks about capturing HDV using the AIC, which seems to be the only way to do it.

The type of workflow you're proposing isn't currently possible with the current Final Cut programs.
Chris Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2007, 07:09 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Thank you Chris.
I wasn't aware an online manual was available- thanks for the effort.

Might you know what's happening during "import" of the AVCHD files- what process is going on (which re-encoding codec)?

Too bad no native HDV importing- would have been a worthy upgrade for lots of people if it could have handled HDV natively.

Thanks again.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2007, 09:36 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 487
It transcodes both AVCHD and HDV to AIC, no ProRes in FCE, unfortunately.

Glad to help!
Chris Harris is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network