FCP Dropping Frames at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 9th, 2007, 10:53 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 133
FCP Dropping Frames

I shoot with an XL2 and import onto FCP, with the scratch disk being an eSATA Hard Drive. When I send it directly to the hard drive it drops a frame about every ten minutes and stops importing. If I go directly to the internal hard drive, it does not have this problem.

Can I set FCP to send the data to the Hard Drive and to ignore dropped frames? Also, will this affect the video quality significantly?
__________________
Sincerely,
Nick Royer
Nick Royer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2007, 11:19 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
There is an option to ignore dropped frames while importing. Go to Final Cut Pro > User Preferences... In the General tab there is a check box that says "Abort capture on dropped frames." I'm not sure what this would do to the captures video though. I have never heard that capturing to an external drive would cause problems. You might want to check the speed of the drive, if it's too slow maybe it can't write the video fast enough.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2007, 06:26 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
Are you capturing footage? If that's what you mean by importing, then you don't want to allow dropped frames. Or your final edit will have missing frames and look jerky.
People used to have this problem because of a glitch with spotlight, you can search for that in this forum.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2007, 11:32 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 133
The hard drive is a LaCie 500BG one with eSATA but that's not the problem cause I had a WD FireWire 400 drive before that and it had the same issue. This has been like this in FCS 1&2 regardless of what camera (XL2 or Xi). I also believe it happened on my old iMac G5 as well.
__________________
Sincerely,
Nick Royer
Nick Royer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2007, 01:55 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
Yeah, that sounds like a Spotlight problem. Go download Spotless and disable Spotlight on your external drive.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network