Missing keyboard shortcut at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 22nd, 2007, 03:38 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 16
Missing keyboard shortcut

I tried posting this elsewhere but no joy.
The FCP command x keyboard shortcut won't work.
Therefore, I can't use the keyboard to cut clips.
I know the keys work because command s works and holding down just the x key gives me a clip highlight and in and out points.
Also, highlighting the clip and hitting command x deletes the clip....and the key types an "x"
I have tried resetting the default keyboard settings, closing down and restarting, also rebooting.
It doesn't look like this is assigned to anything else on the OSX system.
I have even tried assigning it thru the apple/system preferences/keyboard & mouse/keyboard shortcuts + drop down FCP etc.
Any suggestions, greatly appreciated,
I'm sure I'm just missing something.
T.
Tracey Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 04:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
There is a keyboard customization section of FCP... might want to make sure that it didn't get changed somehow! I forget where it is, but I remember it's accessible from the menus at the top of the page, one of the ones to the right end of the list. :)

C
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 04:15 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 16
Been there tried that.
Also been to the system prefs etc.
Tried resetting to default.
Tried restarting FCP.
Tried restarting computer.

Like I say it works for other keyboard commands,
just not that one..... even the shortcut to get
to the shortcut customize keyboard works....
..just not that shortcut
Therefore.... no shortcut....no cut.....
so to speak.
T.
Tracey Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 04:20 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Try mapping it to a different key? I'm just learning FCS myself, and one thing I noticed here is a lot of the keys are taken up by OSX shortcuts - so I would have to change the FCP keystroke to something else, because if the OS has it as a shortcut key too, it takes priority. Wish I could help more!

C
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 04:43 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 16
Unfortunately you can't do that.
FCP doesn't allow presets/preassigned key paths to be remapped.
(It'll just tell you that it's already assigned).
Even tried that, in both the OSX system prefs,
and FCP.
I'm beginning to wonder if there's a temporary keyboard command
disable, which I've accidentally hit.
I'm not really new to FCP, which is why this is driving me nuts.
I use a lot of the shortcut commands.
For now I have to use the blade tool for adjustments.
Just a big PITA!
T.
Tracey Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 05:24 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 722
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=302337

see the section titled "deleting user preferences". I've heard sometimes the preferences files get corrupted. Deleting them resets everything to default.
Nick Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 05:51 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 16
Yep,
Tried that too, no good.
Thanks tho' it was a good suggestion.
Strange that all the others work fine,
especially the ones using those keys.
That's the odd part.
T.
Tracey Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 06:30 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 16
Carl,
By the way, I reread one of your earlier posts.
In my frustration I missed part of what you wrote.
You CAN use the assigned preset keyboard shortcuts in FCP even if OSX
has a preassigned shortcut using the same keys.
All you do is go to system prefs/mouse & keyboard/keyboard
shortcuts, then disable the ones you need for FCP.
If you're predominantly using the mac for FCP you
won't miss the OSX shortcuts for the most part.
There aren't that many compared to FCP.
Regards,
T.
Tracey Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2007, 07:12 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
I wish I could be more of a help with your problem! Though I really appreciate that you've just solved one of mine :)

C
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2007, 09:45 AM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Tracey,

If you're looking to delete a clip from the timeline, use the backspace key. If you use the Delete key above the directional arrows, it will delete the clip and close the gap in one operation. But I guess if you're trying to do cmd-x, you want to cut and paste, not just remove it.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2007, 08:44 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 16
Greg,
I am a little confused by your reply.
Command + X is the keyboard shortcut
for cutting clips in the timeline.
That is what I am unable to do.
The other commands are just examples of what I AM able to do.
If they are working, why not this shortcut?
If you're talking about pasting, that's
the control key?
All I want is to "cut" in the timeline.
It was working fine until a few days ago.
That's why I am beginning to wonder if there's
a temporary disable shortcut, that I've
inadvertently activated.
I've seen FCP do some weird things,
but usually I just reset, reboot etc.
T.
Tracey Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2007, 09:18 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 722
Right, you only need to "cut" clips if you need to "paste" them somewhere else. Those commands are command+x and command+v (or apple+x, apple+v) respectfully. CONTROL+x does something else, but I'm not in front of FCP right now, so I'm not sure.

If you just need to remove the clip from the timeline, use backspace.

Still not sure about why cmd+x doesn't work, that's very strange
Nick Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2007, 01:32 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 16
Right,
Don't have any problems doing the other things.
That IS the problem. It will quite happily do the other things.
I was using other shortcut commands to illustrate that, for example
the command+s works fine, the command+z works fine, the x shortcut
works fine, but the command+x doesn't work.
So...............

"......... it's probably revenge for switching to another mouse"
T.
Tracey Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2007, 02:59 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 16
Nick,
I think I understand what you're saying,
at first I had misunderstood what you had written.
I had remapped a lot of keys, so I'm probably
just getting confused, and tired.
It's working fine now, probably just tired like me,
too many late night edit sessions.
Thanks to all,
T.

Last edited by Tracey Dunn; December 24th, 2007 at 04:37 PM. Reason: misunderstood post
Tracey Dunn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network