16:9 FCP jpeg export at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2008, 04:13 PM   #1
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
16:9 FCP jpeg export

Does anybody know how to export a frame from a 16:9 timeline and make it stay in 16:9? All I seem to be able to do is export a frame and it lands as a 4:3 still.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2008, 04:57 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
That's odd. If you do an export in FCP as a still JPG, you should be able to open in in Photoshop as 16X9. How are you exporting? What are you doing with the export?
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2008, 05:04 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 336
Just exported a frame from a 16x9 timeline and it exported 16x9. Maybe if you state your method of exporting the frame I could see if I can locate your problem?
Ryan Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2008, 06:16 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I just went to export, scrolled down to still image and did the export, but it always comes out 4:3 distorted.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2008, 06:20 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 487
You could open it up in Preview and change the size from 1440x1080 to 1920x1080.
Chris Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2008, 07:09 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 352
AFAIK if you are using an anamorphic HD format (like DVCPro HD or HDV) when you export a still it will be displayed as square pixels (so not 16x9). You'll need to resize the image in Photoshop or something.


-A
Andrew Kimery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2008, 02:48 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 94
I think Andrew is right. Try changing the pixel aspect ratio in Photoshop to DV Widescreen. Or just resize it and up the horizontal pixels but not the vertical.
Mike Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 09:44 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Yep, all exported DV will be 720x480 NTSC (or 720x576 PAL). And note that isn't 4:3 either (which would be 640x480).... it's 3:2. So regardless of whether you're exporting 4:3 or 16:9, the proportions will be wrong on a computer screen and you'll need to resize.

For a 4:3 image, just make sure the width is 1.33 times the height, such as 640x480. For 16:9 the width should be 1.78 times the height, such as 854x480.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network