What Codec to open Quicktime HDV? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2008, 07:09 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warwick, Rhode Island
Posts: 740
What Codec to open Quicktime HDV?

I used a Firestore FS-C to record some footage in HDV, its recorded as quicktime, but my Mac says it needs a codec but doesn`t tell me which one. I am trying ot open it in Premiere CS3
__________________
Cinematography Site
Nathan Quattrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2008, 11:59 AM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Have the moderator move this question to the Premiere forum; it sounds like you're missing a codec for Premiere to see the M2T file created by the Firestore.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2008, 08:59 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warwick, Rhode Island
Posts: 740
Nope. I stated the problem exatly. It is not an M2T. It is a Quicktime HDV file from the firestore which will not play in Quicktime or in Premiere, and its on the Mac, so I figure a Mac should be able to play a Quicktime file.
__________________
Cinematography Site
Nathan Quattrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 11:25 AM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Unless I misread the information, according to the specs page from Focus, the FS-C creates M2T files in HD mode, not native QT files. It only creates native QT's in SD mode.

This was true of the FS-4 HD models as well when they first released; they only created M2T files in HD mode requiring another application to convert them into QT's.

Call Focus and verify the information; they will know for certain what format is being recorded and what the proper workflow is for that device for FCP or Premiere.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 03:02 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
If it is a quicktime .mov file, you may need the Quicktime MPEG2 component.

You might want to try the Perian component as well as I think that has HDV compatibility, but I might be wrong. Whether this will then work in Premiere I don't know.

Might be some confusion if it's moved to the premiere forum as I think most of the people over there are PC based, and this is a Mac problem rather than a Premiere problem I think.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2008, 12:53 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1
Help!

I am having the same problem with a Firestore Quicktime file. Did anyone ever remedy this problem? Thanks!
Fran Dickenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2008, 01:24 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
Do you have the quicktime mpeg 2 codec? It's $20 from apple, I think you get it automatically if you have a newer version of final cut pro.
It's weird you need it for premier I guess, but that's the answer to your question.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2008, 02:57 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan Quattrini View Post
I used a Firestore FS-C to record some footage in HDV, its recorded as quicktime, but my Mac says it needs a codec but doesn`t tell me which one. I am trying ot open it in Premiere CS3
Nathan,
The Quicktime HDV mode of your Firestore is intended for use with Final Cut Pro only. FCP installs a QT HDV codec on your system but this is not available to Premiere, FCE, iMovie, etc.. You should use .m2t for Premiere.
Jason Livingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2008, 10:17 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
1. DO NOT INSTALL THE PERIAN CODECS. it will be hurt, and won't read HDV files, its legacy codecs

2. in order to read QT HDV clips you need the HDV codecs installed via FCS1 or 2

3. you can not copy PPC HDV codec to a intel machine, and vice versa

4. on a machine with FCP 5/6 installed, the codecs are in Mac HD/library/quictime

5. if you install the codecs onto your machine with PP, it will play the files ok via QT.

6. the QT Mpeg2 codec won't help in reading mov HDV files, it only works on mpeg2 files, and m2v/

and as you have found out, PP wants m2t, and FCP wants mov. PP will work with mov if the HDV codecs are installed on the machine.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 08:13 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
>4. on a machine with FCP 5/6 installed, the codecs are in Mac HD/library/quictime
>5. if you install the codecs onto your machine with PP, it will play the files ok via QT.

But of course, that would be illegal Steve!

Seriously, if you want or need Quicktime HDV compatibility on your Mac then you can buy that codec support from Calibrated Software ... its in their XD Decode quicktime component.
Calibrated{Q} XD Decode
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 11:54 AM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Thanks Andy! That's a good one to know. Any chance you've used this with After Effects?
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 07:07 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Hey Michael
I'll be honest here, I don't have or use the XD Decode for Mac component, but I do use the XD Decode for Windows component on my Carbon Coder PC. Its just a QuickTime component, so any QuickTime based app (or any app that recognizes QuickTime content) will be able to transparently handle QuickTime footage encoded as HDV and XDCAM .... and it works exactly as advertised. I've been very happy with it and am happy to recommend it.
I can't imagine why the Mac component would be any less capable but don't take my word for it ... there is a free demo version for download on the site so you can take it for a spin and see if its a worthwhile addition.
Cheers
Andy
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2009, 02:49 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warwick, Rhode Island
Posts: 740
My Mac died, and I'm selling my Firestore. I was wondering if these mov files were openable on the PC as well? I haven't looked into this issue in a long time and have no idea what the clips are anymore. But they take up 12 gigs, so I don`t want to just delete them and move on. I'd like to open them but only have a PC to do it with now. Any ideas? Thanks! Nate
__________________
Cinematography Site
Nathan Quattrini is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network