firestore files coming into FCP stereo and can't separate them at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 14th, 2008, 05:31 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
firestore files coming into FCP stereo and can't separate them

For some reason when i bring them into final cut pro the audio is stereo instead of split mono and I can't pull them apart. Is there some reason for this?

Can i fix it?

am recording on a dsr 450
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 05:32 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
sorry double post
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 06:08 PM   #3
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
It's all in your capture presets - you can select either stereo pair or dual-mono. Check your capture/import preferences first.

If you're simply tranferring QT files then the Firestore has most likely recorded them as a stereo pair. Barry Green is the Firestore expert, he can help you with this much more than I.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 06:11 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
i'm not capturing, the firestore does that and I am just dragging the files into FCP
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 06:16 PM   #5
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Then the FS is recording as a stereo pair. I'm not a FS user so I can't help with any setting changes but I'd imagine the manual talks about any options you may have for audio capture presets.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 07:58 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom View Post
i'm not capturing, the firestore does that and I am just dragging the files into FCP
Highlight the audio file part of the clip on the timeline and press "option" "L". Split files! You might have to check the pan and change it to mono.

I not sure if the FireStore is capable of recording split audio files even though I have one.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 01:31 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
they seem to be coming in mixed which is the problem
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 09:55 AM   #8
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Outside of a tech support call to Focus, it sounds like you'd need to import the audio into an application like Peak, Deck or maybe even Soundtrack Pro and change the file to dual-mono and then re-import it into FCP.

Or, how about connecting the drive and actually capturing it, just as you would with tape. At least that way you could force the audio to be dual-mono on import rather than just transferring files and dealing with the pre-formatted issue.

Try contacting Focus directly and see what they say.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 03:48 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom View Post
they seem to be coming in mixed which is the problem
That should not happen by any stretch of the imagination. Can you split the audio tracks and check them out individually? If the tracks are mixed then, this is a result of camera settings not the FireStore or FCP.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 04:22 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
They aren't mixed. the only way I can separate them is individually within quicktime. Is there a way in Final cut pro?

I would never capture real time through firestore makes the point of having one a bit...pointless!
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2008, 01:17 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom View Post
They aren't mixed. the only way I can separate them is individually within quicktime. Is there a way in Final cut pro?
Please refer to post #6 in this thread.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2008, 02:30 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
That doesn't work. If you put them on the timeline they come out mixed! I need to separate them in the bin. I can do it in quicktime but not within FCP.

I have put a support request in but nobody has got back to me yet.
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2008, 06:47 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
First play the problem clip on the timeline while shutting off audio 1 or 2. Do you get the track separation you want?

If you do then it's time to unlink the audio. That is easily done by highlighting the clip on the timeline and pressing "option L". A quartet of pinkish arrows under the clip name will disappear. You now can double click on the clip and the viewer will give you two tabs for the clip's audio instead of one. At this point you might find it helpful to see if the pan is set to "-1" on audio 1 and "1" with audio 2. You might want to play with the pan if these are vocal tracks.

Do you want to get rid of one track entirely? Press "shift L" (this deactivates "Linked Selection" on the timeline) and click on the unlinked audio track you don't want. Once it's highlighted just delete. You can reactive "Linked Selection" at this point.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2008, 07:57 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 94
I have recorded non-mixed audio on the Firestore many times. Your problem lies in either unlinking the audio or making them a non-stereo pair in Final Cut and playing with the pan. You can do this while it is in the timeline. If they are still mixed, then they had to have been mixed in the camera.
Mike Flynn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network