Please help! FCP6 Preview Disabled at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 24th, 2008, 11:47 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
Please help! FCP6 Preview Disabled

I've just installed FCP6 (Final cut studio 2.0). I've connected my Canon XM2 but when I go to Log and capture I get 'preview disabled' message in the window. The device control works but all I see are the coloured bars and the preview disabled message.

I'm really behind on this job now trying to fix this issue. Please can anybody help me resolve this! Thanks!
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 12:15 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 336
Hey Justin,

Are you by any chance trying to capture on a macbook pro with an external hard drive? Cause if you are, try disconnecting the external. I know, from personal experience, that you cannot capture directly to a firewire drive with some macs. Without the use of an express card anyhow.

Ryan
Ryan Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 12:18 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
Thanks Ryan

I'm using a new G5 imac. I seem to have narrowed down the problem considerably. It seems that if I unplug my external hard drive FCP works fine but when the drive is plugged in is when I get the preview disabled message. What's with that????
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 12:26 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 336
It has to do with the way that the firewire buses are bridged. They are not independent from one another, which I believe is a considerable mistake made by apple. This has driven me nuts on many occasions. I have now bypassed the problem via use of a firewire express card.
Ryan Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 12:32 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
Hmm - is it worth me trying to go to USB instead?
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 12:35 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
I just tried a different cable with another smaller external drive and it is working!!! Bizarre but.... hooray!!!

Thanks for your help on this Ryan.
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 01:28 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 247
Do an easy setup for the format you shot the footage in. Close the current project, create a new one, connect the camera, import away.
Jim Fields is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network