Canon XL & XH 24F, 25F, 30F capture in FCP / FCE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 20th, 2006, 08:27 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Canon XL & XH 24F, 25F, 30F capture in FCP / FCE

FCP 5.1 (Universal) with Canon XLH1 24p

I have a Macbook pro laptop and the latest version of FCP 5.1 (Universal). The problem I have is that FCP 5.1 does not support HDV 24p I thought it will before I bought it when I choose Log and Capture. Is there a work around until Apple comes up with FCP 6 and hopefully it will solve the problem? I desperately need to capture the footage I shot on my Canon XLH1 in HDV 24p in FCP 5.1.

Please advise.

Gilbert.
Gilbert Khoury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2006, 10:28 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
My question was very tough I called around and all the big vendors could not answer my question it is funny how these big companies over market HD but they don't have the technology to support it. Probably the wisest thing to stick to SD till the big vendors figure out in a couple of years the solution. But for now I am stuck with my HD camera and FCP 5.1. The only solution I was able to come up with is to capture the footage that I shot on my Canon XLH1 in 24p in iMovie which is very ironic because it is a low end editing tool but Final Cut Pro HD version could not capture it. Anyway, I was successful to capture the footage in iMovie and now I am in the process to convert it to Quicktime version and I am planning to edit in FCP 5.1 after that I will let you know how it goes. If anybody find a better solution let me know.

Cheers,

Gilbert.
Gilbert Khoury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2006, 10:52 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Even with SD, I do my captures with iMovie anyway. I don't have a DV deck, so I capture the whole tape, then cut the footage and put titlecard/slates in and export full quality to pull into FCP. It's a great way to do dailies and use as a capture/logging station.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2006, 12:36 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Thank you Cole for your reply. For me it seems it is not working with iMovie I was able to capture but when export to quick time with Full Quality option it freezes. I guess there is no solution for now we have to wait for the big vendors to come up with a solution.
Gilbert Khoury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 03:14 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 198
Perhaps you should try HDVxDV demo. It captures 720 24p from JVC camcorder, so perhaps it will work in 1080 ?
http://www.dvdxdv.com/HDVxDVsite/download.html
__________________
http://www.songesdemoai.com/
Ronan Fournier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 10:48 AM   #6
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Boston, MA (travel frequently)
Posts: 837
FCP v5.1 24F support is forthcoming

Apple has a workstation in the CanonDV booth at NAB, demonstrating a preview of the forthcoming update for FCP v5.1 which will natively support Canon's 24F Mode.

It works like a charm.

This update for Final Cut Pro v5.1 will appear as a free software download (for users who have updated to v5.1) under the "Software Update" menu in the Apple menu under Mac OS X.

While no ETA has been given for this update, one could assume that it is forthcoming in the near future.

- don
__________________
DONALD BERUBE - noisybrain. Productions, LLC
Director Of Photography/ Producer/ Consultant
http://noisybrain.com/donbio.html
CREATE and NETWORK with http://www.bosfcpug.org
and also http://fcpugnetwork.org
Don Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 12:24 AM   #7
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Don,

Does that mean I need to go to Final Cut Studio for Intel Macs? Nuts...

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 10:30 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
The universal will work on PPC as well. It's a semi-nominal upgrade fee from FCP5.0
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 08:33 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Thank you Don for the update. I am looking forward to the patch hopefully it is going to be soon.

Cheers,

Gilbert.
Gilbert Khoury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 10:26 PM   #10
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Everyone,

Let me re-phrase my post (I was VERY tired after an event at the local film festival):

Do I have to buy Final Cut for Intel Macs even though I have a Power Mac G5 Quad? Will I be able to get any sort of updates for FCP 5.0.4? Or do I need to have 5.1?

Thanks,

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 07:53 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
If you are currently on 5.0.4 and want to upgrade to 5.1, you will need to pay the upgrade price to do so. You will recieve the identical software that you would get if you were running an intel mac, the software is built to run on both hardware platforms, hence the name Universal.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 09:25 AM   #12
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
But will any updates to FCP be only for the Universal version, or will it also be for the 5.0 series (PowerPC version only)?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 09:29 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
only Universal, the PPC only stuff will be no longer developed as it would take separate development teams to support both platforms. This is the same transition as from the 68k to the PPC. There were fat binaries around for years until most of the 68k macs had been upgraded and the rest became non-cost effective to support/develop for.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 09:38 AM   #14
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Dang...I guess I have to upgrade, though I won't have an Intel Mac for at least another two years. Tiger has dual-updates for both Intel and PPC Macs...

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2006, 07:44 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Unless you're looking for a reason to upgrade, the software will run on both platforms...it's universal.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network