Macbook Pro Screen bypass?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2008, 09:21 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lace Market, Nottingham, UK
Posts: 194
Macbook Pro Screen bypass??

Difficult one to sum up in a subject line really....

What i'm looking to do is quite obscure really. I'm cutting on a Mac Pro with a non-apple LCD display, which is temporary but fine for now.

The monitor is almost impossible to calibrate properly though, i've tried many times but it's not quite right. So colour correction is a no no on this screen.

BUT!

I have a MacBook Pro sat next to it....

It would be great to literally swap the project over the laptop, and colour correct there. but it really isn't an option (all the media is on external eSATA drives out of the Mac Pro and not enough space on other drives....)

Is there any way to bypass the MacBook Pro screen so it is operated by the Mac Pro???....long shot i know! but it would mean making use of that glorious screen without the hassle.

right oh....hope that isn't a hugely daft question!

Cheers,

Neil
Neil Rostance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2008, 09:49 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
I use an external monitor as well. I got a spyder express color calibrator
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...arch&Q=*&bhs=t

And mirrored the monitors so they both showed the same thing and was able to calibrate them separately.

I use the macbook screen for the timeline and the second monitor for displaying the video.

Hope this helps
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2008, 12:49 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
http://www.screenrecycler.com/
Maybe not good for full motion video, but good enough for color correction. Just string an ethernet cable between the two computers (don't even try with 802.11b/g, maybe n tho.) The MBP will turn into a networked monitor that you can drag windows to, just like it was directly hooked up to your Mac Pro. Note: The networked monitor will not work as a Digital Cinema Desktop device, so it won't show up in the View menu under Video Devices.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2008, 08:32 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lace Market, Nottingham, UK
Posts: 194
Thanks both for the replies...both very helpful.

I'm going to give that screen recycler a go actually, thanks Edward...looks like it would be fine for colour correction.

Any more tips bring em on!

thanks again,

Neil
Neil Rostance is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network