FCP will not start with PD150 Connected! Ack! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2008, 02:36 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
FCP will not start with PD150 Connected! Ack!

Hey guys,

I've got a MacPro (FCS2, Leopard, Octicore, Intensity Pro) built for this specific workflow -

Monitor via SD component, print to tape via SD component to betaSP (works)
Output finals for distrib to dub house via MiniDV (doesn't work. At all.)

We start this project TOMORROW! Meep!

If I try to start FCP with the PD150 connected via firewire, it hangs on the splash screen. Without the 150, it opens fine. I have tried sleeping the computer with FCP running, and turning on the pd150, and it hangs as soon as I wake from sleep. All updates (except QT) are installed. FCP 6.0.2.

Any help would be greatly, deeply, and most assuredly humbly appreciated. This Mac migration was going so well..... Please help a stranded PC convert. Please? :)

C
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2008, 03:37 PM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Why do you need to start FCP with the PD150 connected? Once the program is up and running you should be able to plug-in the camera and FCP should see it, start a new project and capture - if that's what you're attempting to do.

Try disconnecting any other FW devices that are connected at the same time; it could be something as simple as a device-connection conflict.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2008, 05:22 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
I should have been more specific - if I connected it while the program was running, it would beachball on me and I'd be unable to even force quit. Restart-required level annoyances. :)

It turned out to be the 6 pin to 4 pin adapter we were using with a cable that it didn't come with. Funny thing was, it worked fine on my Z1, but required the cable that the little adapter came with to work with the pd150.

Thanks anyways!

C
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network