FCP capture question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2008, 12:14 AM   #1
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
FCP capture question

In the past, I was able to play JVC HDV 720p30 tapes from a Sony HDV camera, and vice versa, plus I've been able to capture. With 6.0.2, I cannot; am I crazy or is there a work around?

Thanks,

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 10:26 AM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
That's interesting because unless I'm mistaken, the GOP structure between Sony and JVC is different.

I rarely see HDV timelines unless I'm helping out another editor but I beleive FCP6 does have specific capture presets for all 3 HDV flavors now, JVC, Canon and Sony. Check the online help in FCP along with the HDV Workflow white-papers available from Apple's site, that will answer these questions succinctly.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2008, 09:33 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
I'm experiencing different behaviors on master to tape function than before.
Apple must have changed the program in there.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2008, 01:07 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 352
Heath,

What Sony deck are you using? I've got a m10u and anytime I get a JVC HDV tape I've got to rent a JVC deck 'cause the m10u won't play it.


-A
Andrew Kimery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2008, 04:47 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath McKnight View Post
In the past, I was able to play JVC HDV 720p30 tapes from a Sony HDV camera, and vice versa, plus I've been able to capture. With 6.0.2, I cannot; am I crazy or is there a work around?

Thanks,

Heath
Capture? How were you doing that? The only way I can get any Sony HDV equipment to play back JVC HDV is through the analog outputs. Perhaps the HDMI does too?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network