SteadyMove Equivalent for Final Cut Pro? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2008, 11:14 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 58
SteadyMove Equivalent for Final Cut Pro?

Hi All,

I was wondering whether there is anything that will do the same; here is the link, check out the examples.

Regards,
Simon
Simon Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2008, 11:46 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Posts: 670
It's called SmoothCam in FCP 6. Can save you on real shaky clips but I try to use sparingly.

http://www.apple.com/finalcutstudio/...ovie=smoothcam
__________________
youtube.com/benhillmedia
linkedin.com/in/benhillmedia
Benjamin Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2008, 02:38 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Smoothcam works wonderfully, really.
The automatic settings are almost always the best, and I've had a partner (who's also busy with video) who tought I was on an improvised dolly, while it was just a handheld XL1s shot with Smoothcam.
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2008, 03:07 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 58
Great!

Thanks a lot guys, much appreciated.

Regards,

Simon
Simon Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 07:10 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 430
Be sure to export the clip as a Q time movie and back into FCP if the clip you need to steady is part of a larger clip. Otherwise you'll spend all day waiting for smoothcam to analyse the whole clip.
Dom Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 02:34 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Yes, Smoothcam always analyses your complete rough media clip, so if you always capture your tapes in one go, export the shots that you want to 'Smoothcam' as self contained Quicktime movies, and import them back into FCP, and put them then in the Timeline with the Smoothcam filter on it.
(Under Effects - Video Filters - Video)
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 04:16 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dundee, UK
Posts: 10
I don't suppose there's anything similar for FCP5?
Stuart Burns is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network