Capture Now / Quicktime Pro problems. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2008, 06:08 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 48
Capture Now / Quicktime Pro problems.

Can i Capture footage from Quicktime Pro and export into FCP for editing?
Silly question, i'm sure, but i've just never done it before.

The only reason that i ask is that everytime i use Capture Now in FCP i end up with one file for Video and about a dozen files that label themselves av-1, av-2, av-3 and for the life of me, i cannot figure it out (these files are only like 8kb in size).

Any help would be appreciated.
Ryan Lester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 08:06 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alaska USA
Posts: 32
How are you capturing?
And what format is the video you are capturing?
You can record in QT Pro, but I've never done it. File>New Recording
I've never seen the problem you are talking about with FCP, and really don't understand why you're getting the av-1, etc.
Are those files like sub-clips of the whole audio track?
Ken Civian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 10:13 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 48
Hi Ken.

Yeah, not to sure myself.

I'm capturing from my PD170 in just standard def format (PAL). The AV-1 files are, my guess only, just audio files but when i click on them it says the file is unreadable but it is someway somehow related to the main file that i captured.

Say, for example, i capture a tape a call it Movie. It will come up with the file for the tape itself and then movie AV-1, movie av-2, movie AV-3. Etc etc etc.

Stuffed if i know.

I try to capture it through Quicktime pro instead, which i did, but don't know how to export it into FCP to edit.
Ryan Lester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 11:07 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: montreal
Posts: 170
this has been answered a few minute ago on sony HC thread

You should see in lower right corner how much file is big,
I just did it and for me 10sec=33meg
Martin Labelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 10:09 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
I get those files too, it's no problem though:
Are you writing to a external formated as fat 32? That limits your size of your files. At least I know I do, because my FCP exports have those extra files, and I tried trashing them since they seemed useless and can no longer watch the clip.
My Lacie porsche was fat 32 right out of the box, too late to format it now.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 01:06 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alaska USA
Posts: 32
I didn't think to ask where you were capturing to, but Aric is right about the fat32 formatting.
Capturing in QT, saving as a .mov and importing the .mov clip shouldn't be a problem, just doesn't make a lot of sense to me as you can capture from FCP to start with.

Ryan, if you don't mind explain everything in more detail, like computer, os, fcp version, hdd's, etc.
Ken Civian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 05:32 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 48
No. I'm fully aware of the FAT32 system.... i learnt that the hard way!

Both my hard drives have been formated for my Mac and both are over 7200!

The file for the footage is around 10gb. The file for one of the AV tracks is around 1gb and the rest (av-2, av-3, av-4 etc) are all 8kb or 4kb and don't play anything????

And here's the kicker. If i open the Footage file.............. It plays the audio anyway (in sync with the footage too).

I think, and here's just a guess, that it might have something to do with me running the latest edition of Quicktime, but still haven't upgraded to Leopord or the latest edition of FCP???
That's the only thing i can think of.
Ryan Lester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 07:36 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alaska USA
Posts: 32
qt update

Ryan,
If this problem has occurred since you did a QT update that might be the problem. QT 7.4 caused a lot of problems. I'm still on 7.3 running Leopard and FCS 2. I'm pretty sure, but could be wrong, that you should be using v 7.3 if you're using FCS.
Have you figured it out yet?
Ken Civian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 08:45 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Civian View Post
Ryan,
If this problem has occurred since you did a QT update that might be the problem. QT 7.4 caused a lot of problems. I'm still on 7.3 running Leopard and FCS 2. I'm pretty sure, but could be wrong, that you should be using v 7.3 if you're using FCS.
Have you figured it out yet?

No. Not as yet. Will look into it tonight thou.
Ryan Lester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 09:54 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Healdsburg, California
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Lester View Post
No. Not as yet. Will look into it tonight thou.
I can't imagine what the cause of the problem might be, but just wanna mention to make sure you've double-checked your capture settings. I once had a crash with FCP some time ago and after re-booting and firing up the program again, some of my preference settings had changed.

-Jon
__________________
"Are we to go on record, sir, with our assertion that the 'pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, and green clovers' are, in point of fact', magically delicious?"
- Walter Hollarhan before the House Subcommittee on Integrity in Advertising - May, 1974
Jonathan Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network