problem capturing 60i at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 17th, 2008, 11:05 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stoney Creek, ONT
Posts: 34
problem capturing 60i

Just wondering why when I film 60i footage on my Canon XL2, and capture it in Final Cut with the capture settings as DV NTSC 60i, the original file in the capture scratch folder is 29.97fps?

I've had the XL2 for a good year now and still haven't been able to get a clear answer on how to do the overcrank effect.

I figure if I have the 60i footage I would just import it into a 30fps composition in After Effects or something? But at this point I can't even get it to capture at 60i.

Mitch Fillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2008, 11:30 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 352
60i = 59.94 fields per second = 29.97 frames per second.

Andrew Kimery is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network