how compositing with FCS2 ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 21st, 2008, 02:12 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 210
how compositing with FCS2 ?

Before FCS2, the solution for compositing was aftereffect or shake. What is the official way now ?
Is motion the solution ?
Is it in Color ?

Is is still a better solution to use AE ?

I need to remove some landscapes through a window, for example, and don't know what is the best way for me, nowing I have a good experience with Color, and fewer with Motion.

Thanks.
Sebastien Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 03:49 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,068
Try this

Hi Sebastien:

Please take a look at the fourth clip down on this page. I did and was blown away but how good this key looked. Getting a clean edge is something any good keyer can do. But getting your subject to match an environment without being a compositing wizard? Very tough. I am going to try this software.

http://www.dvgarage.com/prod/prod.ph...p3&sub=samples

Dan
Dan Brockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 11:19 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
color is NOT a compositior.

motion is a medicore compositor at best. - with some BIG BUGs - like when you send clips to motion, they loose TC and reel data. if you ever need to reload clips sent to motion from the FCP TL, your totally screwed.

AE is a somewhat better compositor

Shake and combustion kick a$$ for VFX compositing.

there is no "official" way, only what works best. use the right tool for the job and thats about it.

the next question is , are you dealing with lock off shots ( easy ) or moving shots ? if you have moving shots its Monet or mocha for tracking, then composite in AE / combustion / shake.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 01:54 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 561
There's a trial version of Shake available. As Steve said, it's a very powerful program - be prepared for a steep learning curve.

If you want to try Shake, don't install the trial and just play with it, hoping to like what you find. Instead, get a good book or watch the lynda.com tutorial videos, and then use the trial version to follow the training.

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
Martin Pauly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 11:11 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Pauly View Post
If you want to try Shake, don't install the trial and just play with it, hoping to like what you find. Instead, get a good book or watch the lynda.com tutorial videos, and then use the trial version to follow the training.
Martin's advice is sound. Shake is not like any other app you've worked with. The Apple Pro series of books from Peachpit Press are excellent.
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network