how many times am i allowed to install final cut studio? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2008, 12:17 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: new york city, new york
Posts: 574
how many times am i allowed to install final cut studio?

i had installed final cut studio on my g5 imac

i have just purchased a prev gen 2.4 macbook pro

i want to install the final cut studio on the mbp along with the final cut studio2 upgrade.

eventually, i want to get a mac pro for my shop, and install the final cut studio 2 onto that machine.

how many times can i install my final cut studio?

thanks in advance

be well

rob
Rob Katz is offline  
Old March 24th, 2008, 12:40 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Warrington England
Posts: 143
I don't use that software but normally you are only allowed to install software on one computer unless you buy a multiple licence which will allow you to legally install it on the number of computers that you have a licence for. You can however install and use software on as many computers as you like provided that you do not have to register that software, this is more than likely ilegal though and normally the software has a limited time span before you have to register to be able to use all of the features and qualify for support. Hope this helps.

Alan
Alan Craig is offline  
Old March 24th, 2008, 12:58 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,869
You can install FCS2 on your desk top and lap top.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline  
Old March 24th, 2008, 01:32 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 446
Paul is correct. Desktop and one laptop.
__________________
John J. Moon
www.northernlightfilmworks.com - Event DV Top 25 Recipient
John Moon is offline  
Old March 24th, 2008, 01:49 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 561
Right, one desktop and one laptop - but only run one at a time. So you cannot, for example, run FCP on one computer to capture footage from the camera while using DVD Studio on the other computer. The software actually enforces this when the two computers are connected to the same network.

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
Martin Pauly is offline  
Old March 24th, 2008, 02:08 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Pauly View Post
Right, one desktop and one laptop - but only run one at a time. So you cannot, for example, run FCP on one computer to capture footage from the camera while using DVD Studio on the other computer. The software actually enforces this when the two computers are connected to the same network.

- Martin
How does this get enforced? It clearly states in the license agreement that you can install it on a desktop and a laptop..
Greg Patch is offline  
Old March 24th, 2008, 05:08 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 327
The application is "network aware". This means it polls your network connection each time before a FCS app launches. If another FCS app is running on your local network, it will refuse to launch.
Scott Anderson is offline  
Old March 24th, 2008, 09:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
From the license agreement :
Quote:
This License allows you to install and use one copy of the Apple Software on one Apple-labeled desktop computer and one Apple-labeled laptop
computer so long as both computers are owned and used by you. You may not make the Apple Software available over a network where it could be used by multiple computers at the same time.

So you can install it on 2 computers ONLY. Those being specifically 1 desktop and 1 laptop, so long as they are BOTH OWNED AND USED BY YOU. And you are specifically NOT allowed to use it on multiple computers simultaneously.
Andy Mees is offline  
Old March 25th, 2008, 10:08 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Anderson View Post
If another FCS app is running on your local network, it will refuse to launch.
Minor nitpick: If another FCS app with the same serial number is running on your local network...

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
Martin Pauly is offline  
Old March 29th, 2008, 08:19 PM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Apple's license for FCS 2 may be found here and as others have pointed out, it's pretty easy to understand:

http://images.apple.com/legal/sla/do...cutstudio2.pdf

Please don't discuss ways to circumvent copy protection on DVinfo; thanks for your cooperation.
Boyd Ostroff is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network