How do you import HDMI into Intensity from HV20? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2008, 09:32 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 43
How do you import HDMI into Intensity from HV20?

How do you import HDMI into Intensity from HV20?

I'm doing a green screen shoot at Uni on Thursday and have just got the Intensity card.

I have successfully captured uncompressed video to my Mac Pro at 1080i50 into the basic Blackmagic software, but I want to know how to import straight into Final Cut studio 2 so I can use different codecs like the Pro Res 422 at maybe 50 or 60 720p.

Does anyone have a similar setup?

Or can you point me to a tutorial?

Thanks

Ocean
__________________
MySpace/Escapee Planes
Ocean Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 10:46 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 123
I've been using the HV20, intensity, prores, FCP combination for live capture for quite some time now. Not that difficult. In video/audio settings set capture to the codec you want... I use the blackmagic hdtv 1080i 59.94 - apple prores (hq) setting. Then use log and capture function. Note: you will not get a time code and this will not auto create clips. Things I'm willing to give up for this configuration.

The ability to capture is highly dependent on disk speed. Use the blackmagic speed test to determine what frame rate you can capture. Prores and uncompressed are especially taxing. I originally had issues until I installed a 5 disk RAID0 array internally to my mac pro.

Good luck,

Mark
Mark Keck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 11:34 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 43
Thanks man I got it working- The problem I'm having now is when I try and capture 720p50 - it captures but when I bring the footage into After Effects it says it is still 1080 p 25 Is this a limitation of the HV20?

Is it possible to capture 50 progressive frames with the hv20 and intensity?
__________________
MySpace/Escapee Planes
Ocean Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 02:12 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 123
Sorrry Ocean, I don't have any experiance with 50i or 25p... however, I don't think that this is a HV20 problem... I take it that you camera is PAL???

I'm stumped on the conversion to 720p50... are you trying to do this on ingest or via compressor??? I don't believe that the intensity card can do this type of conversion on the fly.

Pehaps someone else can enlighten us both.

Mark

Last edited by Mark Keck; March 26th, 2008 at 03:21 PM.
Mark Keck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 04:48 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 43
Yeah - I'm using PAL. I was hoping I could capture at 720p50 as it shows up as an option. I wanted 50p so I could slow it down to 25p later and have a decent slo mo - instead of frame blending etc.

I'll play around and see what I can achieve- Thanks for your help :)
__________________
MySpace/Escapee Planes

Last edited by Ocean Zen; March 26th, 2008 at 06:11 PM.
Ocean Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 04:55 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 123
Instead of frame blending try out the optical flow in motion... very cool.
Mark Keck is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network