Final Cut Pro and Leopard (strange behavior) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 10th, 2008, 05:15 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida US
Posts: 7
Final Cut Pro and Leopard (strange behavior)

ever since upgrading to Leopard I get a choppy image in my viewer and canvis windows. I play a frame and it goes away but it is back if I switch tabs or open another clip.

http://davidertley.com/choppy.jpg

Does anybody else get this? If so, is there a fix?
thanks.
David Ertley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 05:56 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Ertley View Post
ever since upgrading to Leopard I get a choppy image in my viewer and canvis windows. I play a frame and it goes away but it is back if I switch tabs or open another clip.

http://davidertley.com/choppy.jpg

Does anybody else get this? If so, is there a fix?
thanks.
Yes, I get the exact same thing in the viewer. And it started with the upgrade of Leopard. BTW, I did a clean, fresh install on a newly formatted hard drive, immediately updated to 10.5.2 and then installed FCS 2, ran all the updates.

I'm not aware of any fix. It looks like the poster frame, that one single frame that's displayed for a movie, is screwed up.

I used to get annoyed by this, but in the meantime I only smirk, shake my head (at Apple's software engineers)....

BTW, I'm working on a G5 with its old, crappy, slow Radeon 9600.

Best Regards,
Dino
Dino Leone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 08:18 PM   #3
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
It could very well be that that old card is simply not compatible with the video drivers in Leopard, and in fact that screen grab looks exactly like a driver/refresh rate mismatch issue.

I would check the Apple discussion forums and see if there's a mention of the issue there.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 11:15 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alaska USA
Posts: 32
I had that happen before leopard. Trash your preferences and it should go away. There was a thread at apple about this a while ago. Don't know exactly what your search should be, but it's there.
Ken Civian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2008, 01:22 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Civian View Post
I had that happen before leopard. Trash your preferences and it should go away. There was a thread at apple about this a while ago. Don't know exactly what your search should be, but it's there.
Thanks Ken!
It does work. Scrambling still appeared first time I clicked each clip in the browser, but on 2nd click it goes away. Looks like the old scrambled preview first gets loaded but then it gets replaced by a correct one. Very nice!
Thanks,
Dino
Dino Leone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2008, 09:48 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida US
Posts: 7
not fixed for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Civian View Post
I had that happen before leopard. Trash your preferences and it should go away. There was a thread at apple about this a while ago. Don't know exactly what your search should be, but it's there.
As I mentioned, this happens with fresh installs the first time I run FCP, but I tried trashing the prefs anyway. by trashing the preferences I only need to trash the "Final Cut Pro 6.0 Prefs" file right? I'm still getting the same thing even after loading the same clips multiple times in the viewer. it seems it may have fixed the problem in the canvas window.
David Ertley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2008, 11:37 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alaska USA
Posts: 32
trashing prefs

Here you go David:
http://www.kenstone.net/fcp_homepage...fcp_prefs.html
There is more than one pref you need to trash.
I used to use FCP Rescue, but it doesn't work with Leopard yet.
Ken Civian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 12:33 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida US
Posts: 7
still no

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Civian View Post
Here you go David:
http://www.kenstone.net/fcp_homepage...fcp_prefs.html
There is more than one pref you need to trash.
I used to use FCP Rescue, but it doesn't work with Leopard yet.
I followed all 10 steps, no change.
oh well. the lack of being able to output video to my Z1u is a lager problem, unfortunately I haven't had a single reply to that thread yet.

thanks though.
David Ertley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network