Sound during capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 23rd, 2008, 01:16 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 157
Sound during capture

This has never happened before, but all of a sudden now when I capture, sound is playing through my computer speakers. And it seems like it might be causing some capture problems. Namely, when it reaches the end of the media on my tape, instead of searching for media, it just freezes and I have to force quit.

Any ideas?
Steve Yager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 03:24 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 89
try another computer?
Chris Sweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 03:26 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 157
I know the problem isn't with the camera. What help would trying another computer be? Its clearly a software issue.
Steve Yager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 04:24 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Steve,

In the Log and Capture window, under the Clip Settings tab, there is a checkbox in the Audio section labelled "Preview" deselect that if you want to turn off the audio preview to your computers speakers,

Cheers
Andy
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 10:52 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Mees View Post
Steve,

In the Log and Capture window, under the Clip Settings tab, there is a checkbox in the Audio section labelled "Preview" deselect that if you want to turn off the audio preview to your computers speakers,

Cheers
Andy
Thanks for the response Andy. I see that in the SD capture window, but I'm working with HDV and the capture window is a little different. There's no preview button. Any more ideas? Thanks!
Steve
Steve Yager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 10:10 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 288
Well i do know that the "Sound from the speakers" is something new in 6.0.3 and i too have had many force quits =( but what i end up doing is just going into finder, under my capture scratch, and since its all in a project file, i just hit apple a and drag em all into the bin.
__________________
Loren Simons
Loren Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 06:12 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4
This is driving me nuts lately. I have to assume it's using more CPU power to have live playback of sound in addition to video while capturing, and there's just no need for it, especially when it's been made mandatory. I often will capture a whole tape in one pass, since it detects scene breaks automatically, and this new "feature" means I can't listen to any other audio on my system for as long as I'm capturing. I hope 6.0.4 will add a checkbox to turn this off.
Casey Pegram is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network