telecine to disk vs. telecine to digibeta? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2008, 11:41 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 2
telecine to disk vs. telecine to digibeta?

hey all -- i知 about to edit a 16mm music video on finalcut... for my final dvd and digibeta deliverables, i知 wondering what the smarter choice would be -- telecine uncompressed QT to disk, or telecine to digibeta?

in the end, would a telecine to uncompressed QT somehow yield a noticeably higher image quality than a telecine to digibeta?

and assuming i知 going to pay someone to handle the online -- would i be saving a significant amount of money pulling master footage right off the hard disk during the online edit, avoiding the cost of digitizing from a digibeta deck?

and are there any other advantages to having uncompressed masters on disk? e.g. would it give the online editor more room to maneuver (in terms of color correction and effects) than if he/she had to work off of digibeta masters?

thanks!
Robert Tronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 12:05 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Who is doing your online and on what system? You might want to ask them what workflow is the best for them and to test things out beforehand if necessary.

If they are on Final Cut too, then get it transferred to disk (your system will need to be fast enough) and then you can use Media Manager (aka media mangler) to copy your project over. Or keep it all on a single drive and then bring that into their system.
Sometimes Media Manager has bugs in it and will screw things up and not copy things right. So that's something to watch out for.

Other online systems may not (probably won't) handle Quicktime uncompressed in a way that all the cuts transfer over easily and the online system understands the uncompressed codec (whichever codec it is).

Quote:
uncompressed QT somehow yield a noticeably higher image quality than a telecine to digibeta?
Digibeta is technically lightly compressed, but I don't think you're going to see a huge difference either way.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 01:45 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
the question is : if you get the movie on a DIGIBETA tape, what you would do with ?
the fact that data are on disk doesn't means anything about what kind of data you will get.
In this case you need to ask how they will transfer the movie to disk (what hardware and software and settings) are involved.
the parameters are CODEC (intraframe compression or not), bandwith, luma/color ratio ( example 4:2:2), bit depth (8/10/12 and if 12, not 8 in 12 with 0s for padding).
then you can compare with DIGIBETA (a DCT-compressed component video signal at 10-bit YUV 4:2:2 sampling in NTSC (720×486) or PAL (720×576) resolutions at a bitrate of 90 Mbit/s )
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 02:52 PM   #4
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
i have some 16mm to digibeta tapes here - at the same time i had them strike a DVcam copy ... i'm on a PC ...
well it's not easy getting Digibeta captured to hard drive.. i have finished editing the projects using the Dvcam tapes ...
i did have one of the digibeta captured on a Avid - i received both 8bit & 10 bit uncompressed QT ... the 8 bit i can use on my PC but the 10bit i cannot - they are a avid type MFX ( or is it MXF) file .. i've tried loading in the free Avid codec's but still no 10bit ..

from what i recall FCP reads 10bit YUV clips and 8bit RGB ...
i say you look into having it captured to 10 bit ProRes files then you know your getting the full 10bit 4:2:2 and they'll play in FCP time line ...
Don Donatello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 10:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 88
I work at a telecine transfer house that transfers direct to disk. We do 35mm,16mm, super8 to any codec (10 bit uncompressed HD down to SD pro-rez). We run Final Cut systems but we also have an Avid Media Composer system for conversion to mxf. This side of our business is continually growing more and more. Last year we only went to drive every once in a while, now its almost preferred.
BTW, I spend alot of time with different codecs etc. and Its really hard for me to see the difference between 8-bit uncompressed and 10bit uncompressed. We have a colorist with 30 years experience here and I don't think he can always see the difference either.
8bit SD can go directly to any mediocre firewire 400 drive. 10bit requires a decent FW800 drive or a raid system, so thats another thing to consider. Some transfer houses in our area require anything above DVCPro 50 to go to their raids (which of course is an extra charge). We don't so we're getting more business.

There is no quality trade-off going direct to drive. And there's no tape cost either :)
Luke Tingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 09:44 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Tingle View Post
BTW, I spend alot of time with different codecs etc. and Its really hard for me to see the difference between 8-bit uncompressed and 10bit uncompressed. We have a colorist with 30 years experience here and I don't think he can always see the difference either.
In regards to the difference between 8-bit and 10-bit on viewing - I agree with this, until the point where you need to push the image in colour correction or start doing heavy effects work on it.

A lot of footage at 10-bit COULD look just the same to 99% of your viewers as 8-bit, (especially when these days it's likely going out to the viewer as a compressed mpeg-2/mpeg-4 stream as either DVD or HD Broadcast or online download.).

However - you WANT 10-bits worth of latitude if you are doing heavy colour correction - get your footaged telecined to that, and if your edit system can't handle 10-bit onlining then also get a DVCAM output to use for offline and do a traditional offline - online workflow.
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network