Export AVI from Quicktime player... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 6th, 2008, 09:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 86
Export AVI from Quicktime player...

please help!
I have a 20 minute sequence in FCP.
i export it as quicktime movie (self contained). the file ends up being 4 gig.
i open the file in quicktime player and export as "movie to AVI".

the file is 4 gig like the original quicktime movie but only the first 45 SECONDS of the video is there. what happened to the rest of the video?
i check the original exported quicktime movie from FCP and it is full 20 minutes with no problems.

i have tried doing this many times and exporting to different drives. it all turns out the same with the exported Quicktime AVI movie being ONLY the first 45 seconds.
i also did the obvious of restarting computer :)

i have done this procedure many times in the past and have not had this problem before.
has anyone encountered this before? any thoughts??
any help at this point would be much appreciated...thanks in advance!
__________________
Jay
----------------------------
Sony VX2100 cam; FCP 5.0.4
Jay Voog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 05:51 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
I don't know what's happened. I would suggest deleting the final cut pro prefs file. and trying again. What codec are you exporting too. Avi can't handle all the codecs quicktime Quicktime (for example QT only ones like Apple HDV, AIC, or ProRes.

You could open your QT movie in MPEG Streamclip and try a "save as" to the AVI format.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 08:08 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan Pank View Post
I would suggest deleting the final cut pro prefs file. and trying again.

Thanks Dylan,
could you let me know where/how to delete them?
thanks again!
__________________
Jay
----------------------------
Sony VX2100 cam; FCP 5.0.4
Jay Voog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 08:21 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
Close FCP

Do a spotlight or finder search for final cut pro and you'll come across a file called (from memory) apple.com.finalcutpro.plist - delete it, or make a backup first (depends how precious your settings are) and relaunch FCP.

Again what codec are you exporting to?
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 08:40 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 86
using quicktime player, exporting to "AVI" DV/DVCPro-NTSC.
__________________
Jay
----------------------------
Sony VX2100 cam; FCP 5.0.4
Jay Voog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 08:43 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
I'm stumped, I've done this many times myself (though PAL, not NTSC) without a problem.

The MPEG streamclip approach should work, maybe the problem is Quicktime.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 08:58 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 86
yeah...whats funny is it does a sequence just fine that i tried at 15 minutes, but it seems anything larger than that (like this 20 minute one), it only encodes 45-50 seconds of the sequence. i was trying to look for a time limit setting or something that could cause that, but couldn't come up with anything.

couple questions for you if i could...
what exactly will happen with deleting the prefs file?
sorry, i am not the best on understanding how FCP works entirely, i just know how to edit with it.

and another question...what version of quicktime are you using? i am using 7.2. i have heard of many problems with upgrading from that so i never really did. i am on a mac G5 running tiger with FCP 5.0.4


thanks again for your help and time...i appreciate it!
__________________
Jay
----------------------------
Sony VX2100 cam; FCP 5.0.4
Jay Voog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 10:06 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 40
Why don't you export from FCP straight to AVI?

File > Export > Using Quicktime Conversion, then select AVI from the drop-down box. You can change the settings there...i've used that before and has worked fine (albeit for about 5 mins of video).
__________________
MBP 15" 2.6Ghz, 4GB RAM. 2TB storage. FCS2. Canon XH-A1.
www.jpcreativemedia.com vimeo.com/user449069
Jo Potts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 10:23 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo Potts View Post
Why don't you export from FCP straight to AVI?

That is what i do usually, but sometimes i make a quicktime file for a backup first. then i just take that file and make the AVI. not really any different.
but both ways create the same situation. that is why i don't know what is up. i make a regular quicktime file from FCP its fine. make an AVI from FCP its not :(
__________________
Jay
----------------------------
Sony VX2100 cam; FCP 5.0.4
Jay Voog is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network