Big Varicam in FCP issue at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 15th, 2008, 12:56 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 58
Big Varicam in FCP issue

Hey everyone,

I'm not big on posting a lot here but read incessantly - and I hope DVinfo users might have the answer to a big challenge I'm confronting.

I'm looking for a post workflow breakdown for footage shot on the Varicam at 25p over 60hz - with some 50p thrown in for good measure ;-) - using FCP6.

I've just wrapped after directing a short drama here in the UK. We pulled all the stops out to shoot as high end as we could for very little money and ended up managing to get the Varicam requested by the DoP. But the post house - despite pulling out all the stops and working through till 6am this morning - were only able to get the decks and frame rate converter they'd hired to pull in the rushes at 60. They've told me 60i. I believe they meant 60p.

Basically my position is that things are now mainly in my hands. I usually cut myself on FCP - have 5 years TV experience cutting with various NLE's - but I'm totally new to HD. If any errors have been made in the digitizing so far I need to fix them asap or if indeed the process has been done correctly so far I need to assure myself that I'll be working the proper FCP workflow when I take over.

I know shooting 25p with 60hz hasn't got a lot of native support, but if anybody has a workflow - no matter how costly - that works for the edit process I'd be incredibly relieved to hear it. This project means an enormous amount to me.

If you're gonna do a total control freak and do it 150% right. Then, if you screw up, it's still gonna rock.
Marco van Belle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2008, 09:00 AM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,730
Images: 15
Double check with your P.H. and make sure they ingested progressive not interlaced, that would be your first task.

FCP6 can mix/match frame-rates but the non-native rates will require rendering - unless you ingest all the footage into ProRes and even-up the playing field. It really depends on who's doing the editing and what resources are available on that system. If it's your P.H. that's the mainline editor then let them decide on workflow; if you're doing the rough and final cuts then my suggestion is ProRes.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network