Quicktime Drop Frame or NDF question.. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2008, 01:56 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 37
Quicktime Drop Frame or NDF question..

Hi,

I've been asked to do post production for a feature length, but low budget film.

It was shot in SD, at 29.97fps, but my question is this:

I'm adding the Timecode Generator Video Filter to the original footage, and after rendering and exporting from Final Cut Pro, I'm going to import into Pro Tools for the audio work. Is there a way to tell weather the video was Non Drop or Drop Frame? The TCG gives me either option, but I'm not sure which to pick.

Thanks for all the help!

-Dmitry
Dmitry Futoryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 03:06 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
If at the beginning of ANY minute of timecode BESIDES the 10th, there is a ;00 or ;01 timecode it's NDF otherwise it's DF. By indicating 29.97 you are also indicating DF.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 01:57 AM   #3
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
I thought NTSC was always 29.97 (as opposed to exactly 30fps), and that that's why DF was created, to account for the drift between timecode and real time over a given period, to keep the two in Sync?
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 11:29 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 37
Thank you for all the help!

I've also talked to the editor, and he informed me that unless I'm working on broadcast material that needs to be "real-time" accurate, I should be working in NDF. It seems Final Cut defaults to DropFrame.

Either way, the problem is fixed and I now have timecode right on my video file in Pro Tools without a $1,300 DV Production Toolkit :)
Dmitry Futoryan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network