could really do with some help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 3rd, 2008, 01:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lanark,Scotland
Posts: 736
could really do with some help

Hey there, I'm trying to get a second graphics card (nvidia geforce 7300 GT) to run an HDTV as a third monitor for final cut pro. My mac is a quad core power PC G5 with nvidia geforce 6600 (not the new intel one).

When i fitted the card and turned the mac on not a thing happened, the only difference was in the system profiler in the PCI cards section where it called it a PCI0, 400 VGA compatible controller (not nvidia geforce 7300 gt which i thought was strange)

Iv tried everything i can think of including putting my main mac monitors into the new card to see if it would run them which it didn't, which makes me think its not installed properly or isn't compatible with my mac. When i turned it on i expected it to say "found new hardware" or something similar but i got nothing.( i also ran software update)

Anyway i'm stumped so if anyone has any ideas that would be great.

BTW i asked the guy in the apple shop if i could use a second graphics card to run a third monitor and he said i could. he also said it has its own drivers and is just plug and play.
__________________
Actor: "where would that light be coming from?"
DP: "same place as the music" -Andrew Lesnie-
Andy Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2008, 03:19 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Forgive my ignorance, but could this be a PCI-E vs. PCI-X issue?
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2008, 03:57 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lanark,Scotland
Posts: 736
Hey Shaun, i think as far as i know the card is PCI-E and so is my mac......at least it said PCI-E on the slots when i had it open.
__________________
Actor: "where would that light be coming from?"
DP: "same place as the music" -Andrew Lesnie-
Andy Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2008, 07:10 PM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Andy,

Here is your answer:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=305346

The 7300 GT only works on a MacPro; the EFI firmware won't talk to a G5. I have no idea if you can still order cards for a G5 through Apple but I'm sure there are resellers out there that can.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2008, 02:41 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lanark,Scotland
Posts: 736
Hi Robert, thanks a lot for finding that, i figured as much. I can print that and take it to the shop i bought it from and get my money back.

much appreciated.

Andy.
__________________
Actor: "where would that light be coming from?"
DP: "same place as the music" -Andrew Lesnie-
Andy Graham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network