spinning wheel at end of capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 10th, 2008, 02:53 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 169
spinning wheel at end of capture

We are having a problem on many macbook pros and I'm not sure if there is an easy solution, outside of shooting post roll at the end of the job.

On OS 10.5.2 with FC 6.0.3 and Qt 7.4.5 : When we use Capture Now" to capture the tape all is fine until the end of the last clip. When the end of the time code is reached we get the spinning wheel and the only way to get out of it is to force quit. When the project is opened again there are no clips, but all of the clip are in the capture scratch, with the exception of the last one. Nothing really lost, but since we have many new operators and a few are having this problem I thought I would ask. We could just have them shoot an extra 30 second clip at the end of their job to avoid hitting the end of the time code.

Thanks for any advice on this.
Jeff Rhode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 10:42 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 28
This drove me crazy. I would have to recapture and recapture. The best solution I found was to capture as a clip and make the out point just before the end of the footage. When I installed QT 7.5 it was fixed, and I back to normal now. Maybe try reinstalling 7.5 ? or an older version of QT like 7.3
Dave Ambrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 10:49 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Ambrose View Post
This drove me crazy. I would have to recapture and recapture. The best solution I found was to capture as a clip and make the out point just before the end of the footage. When I installed QT 7.5 it was fixed, and I back to normal now. Maybe try reinstalling 7.5 ? or an older version of QT like 7.3
Thanks Dave.
I'll check out the update to see if that helps.
I have asked all the shooters to shoot some post roll so if it does happen then the only clip lost is the post.

Regards.
Jeff Rhode is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network