P2 footage frame rate issue after import at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 11th, 2008, 12:38 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
P2 footage frame rate issue after import

I'm starting work on a new short film shot with an HVX200 capturing DVCPro HD to P2 cards. The director brought me the footage on a G-RAID 2 drive. The contents of the drive are the dumps from the cards, meaning a bunch of "P2 folders" for lack of a better term (this is my first time working with P2 footage, so I am not up on everything including terminology).

In order to begin my assembly cut, I began by bringing the footage into Final Cut Pro (v5.1.4) by way of the handy Import Panasonic P2 tool. It has been going pretty smoothly, with a few exceptions. Some clips, which play back fine when previewing them in the Import tool, end up with frame rate issues after the import. One clip ends up with at 3fps, another at 2 fps, one at 19.98 fps

Everything was shot at 720p24N, meaning the clips should be 23.98 fps. I tried importing again; same thing. Trashed the FCP prefs; same thing. New FCP project file; same thing. I tried a searching in the post forums for P2 frame rate issues, however nothing came up am I really the first person to experience this? No, I can't be can I?
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 11:13 AM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
That's really strange. I don't remember if 5.1.4 had the "log & transfer" ingest option but if not, try using P2Log Pro instead. Is it possible those segments were shot VFR (over/under-crank)?
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 04:03 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
pulldown removal was enabled

It turns out that it was the automatic pulldown removal option was enabled. Since the footage was 24pN, it should have been disabled. After making sure of this, i was able to reimport the clips in FCP and things were fine.

Odd that this only occurred with 15 of the 261 clips. It's those damn gremlins in the machine, i tell ya!
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network