Import from Avid Liquid 7.2 to Final Cut at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 23rd, 2008, 02:56 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,864
Import from Avid Liquid 7.2 to Final Cut

When I try to save in quicktime from Avid Liquid 7.2 and then move to the Mac and import into Final Cut 6.0.3 I have a problem. The files go into bins but will not render and they fail on the time line.

Has any one been able to to this?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 04:01 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Guarda, Portugal
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Cronin View Post
When I try to save in quicktime from Avid Liquid 7.2 and then move to the Mac and import into Final Cut 6.0.3 I have a problem. The files go into bins but will not render and they fail on the time line.

Has any one been able to to this?

Maybe you're using an Avid codec inside that quicktime movie that you don't have on your mac.
From my experience, the best way to exchange files between PC and Mac is using Uncompressed or PhotoJPG. Not sure, but I think these are the only codecs that work on both sides (except if you have Avid Xpress or MC on the Mac).

L.R.

Edit - OK, DivX, Sorenson and H264 will work too, but you don't want compression for editing, right?
Luis Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 04:59 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
You need to download the Avid QuickTime codec then you'll be fine.
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2008, 05:27 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Guarda, Portugal
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liam Hall View Post
You need to download the Avid QuickTime codec then you'll be fine.
Oops... I thought it only came with Avid software...
Cool, that way will be easier for him.
Luis Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 10:05 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,864
Luis I tried PhotoJPG and it did not work. And your are correct I am trying to do it with out compression.

Liam where do I find the download for Avid Quicktime?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 10:50 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oppland, Norway
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liam Hall View Post
You need to download the Avid QuickTime codec then you'll be fine.
I don't think it will work with Avid Liquid, only with Avid Express Pro, Media Composer and New Cutter!
Ref this link: http://avidtechnology.custhelp.com/c...?p_faqid=71356
__________________
- Per Johan
Per Johan Naesje is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network