1080i60 to 480i or 486i for broadcast delivery in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 30th, 2008, 08:52 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,778
1080i60 to 480i or 486i for broadcast delivery in FCP

I had been shooting my broadcast spots in Standard Def until now. I've been using HD for corporate and digital signage.

I've finally decided to move my spot clients to HD productions. Rather than experiment I'm wondering what the workflow might be for SD broadcast delivery (I use DGFastchannel, not tape).

I shot 1080i60 XDCAM EX1 HD
I'll be editing in FCP 6.0.4.
Creating MPEG2 Program Stream in Episode Pro 5 for DG delivery.

I'd like to edit in an SD timeline.
Not sure if it'll be letter box or center crop yet since.
1080i source is upper field and I'd like to avoid filed flipping issues.
I'm wonder what timeline settings I should use.

Any thoughts?
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2008, 09:24 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Don't use DVCPro/DV. You'll end up with lower field first and the resultant problems. Animation codec has always worked well for me. What can your I/O card support?

Ooops, just noticed you don't have to output to tape. Try Animation on a short piece and see if you like it.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2008, 09:51 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,778
I definitely want to avoid DV/DVCPro50 etc. since I don't want to give it a round of compression. Wouldn't Animation be "overkill?" I was thinking 8 bit Uncompressed or maybe Apple Pro Res.

Baring any issues, I'm going to be delivering MPEG2 Program Stream via DGFastchannel. I've done this many times with SD source but haven't shot a spot in HD for SD delivery yet so I'm thinking about the potential pitfalls.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2008, 04:29 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 299
I would just go pro res since its almost the same data rate as the ex1 footage. I don't see the point in encoding footage to a higher res codec when the information isn't there. I personally set up all my timelines that are using long gop codecs as pro res already and it works and looks great.
James Brill is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network