BRHD50U not working with Kona LHe at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 8th, 2008, 05:05 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
BRHD50U not working with Kona LHe

I'm having the exact same issue another poster had trying to capture 720P 59.94 over component.

capture using FCP 6.01 and JVC BRHD50U deck. Prompt screen repeatedly reads "A new tape has been inserted in the VTR. You may wish to change the Reel settings" common when changing tapes but I'm not changing tapes! Also the deck communication status info located at the bottom center of the capture window bounces back and forth between "VTR OK" and "VTR In Local" as play stop fast forward and rewind buttons flash back and forth intermittently. All of which makes capture impossible!
Deck is connected via RS422 from AJA Kona Lhe Card All device control settings are correct (AJA Kona LH:59.94 Panasonic VTR). Control panel settings in Kona Control panel all seem to be correct.

It will not even batch capture, says it can't find timecode.

Positively it is not the deck.

aja vtr exchange appears to work just fine.

any ideas?<br><br>
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2008, 06:10 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
multiple errors here

the TC from the deck isn't 59.94 unless its shot at 60p. in 30p you get 30 FPS TC, and in 24P the deck spits out 24 FPS, but FCP still translates it into 30. HUGE BUG.

if you mark a point that end at say, 44 frames, then when the deck goes to seek frame 44, its not there because its sending 30FPS which will wrap at 29 frames to zero. with 24P tapes, its even worse because all frames over 23 aren';t there. FCP will let you set a point at 25 frames for example, but when it goes to shuttle the tape into preroll position, the single frame mode is read and the cheat FCP is using to translate 24->30 isn't being used !
DUUUHHHHHH!

and FCP just sucks when it comes to machine control & the JVC deck. always has except in 5.0.4... but that didn't support 24fps native HDV capture.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2008, 06:14 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
Steve I capture that way ALL THE TIME using black magic's multibridge pro and easy setups.

With the Kona LH-E ONLY it has this problem.


I know it records 29.97 tc, but the deck outputs 59.94 over component.

it has to be a kona problem.
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2008, 06:27 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
when you shoot 24FPS, the camera records 24fps TC, the deck sends 24FPS TC.

the video signal going out the component outs is 24fps@59.94 with 3:2, actually 6:4 pulldown embedded. the deck does not send 59.94 TC... unless its 60P but I have never had a 60P tape to test.

the video frame rate of 59.94 has nothing to do with the TC frame rate, especially in this case since 59.94 its really just a transport stream for many different frame rates.

with the kona I've captured using the 720P59.94 video input setting, but used 30 FPS for the TC because thats what the deck sends... then it will work.

if the BM hardware works this way, great, but the kona doesn't
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2008, 06:37 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
I'm moving this over to the FCP forum because you'll have a better chance at finding a Kona guru. I'm a Blackmagic Decklink guy so I can't offer any suggestions.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2008, 06:41 PM   #6
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
I'd highly suggest contacting AJA tech support; they'd have a definitive answer in seconds.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2008, 01:55 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
thanks guys
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 04:52 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
I'm putting this here in case someone else has the same problem.

I recieved a replacement kona lh from aja, made no difference
on this particular problem.

I have a keyspan usb to serial adapter and decided to give
that a try.

It works perfectly.

so the workaround for me at this point is to bypass kona
serial control and use the keyspan.
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 06:53 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
"All device control settings are correct (AJA Kona LH:59.94 Panasonic VTR)."


its supposed to be sony, at least that works for me. I've tried both 30 and 24 settings but FCP always translates to 30NDF.

interesting that it works with the keyspan adaptor which puts TC out of the hands of the Kona 422 port driver .
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network