FCP issues with 24pA footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 22nd, 2008, 10:47 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 196
FCP issues with 24pA footage

I've tried searching for an answer to my question both here and other websites and I can't seem to find anything addressing my specific problem.

I have shot a great deal of footage in 24pA on a DVX-100a and I am capturing it into Final Cut 6 with advanced pulldown. Final Cut is repeatedly, albeit not always, confusing the footage as 29.97 fps therefore making the footage look awful and the audio being way off.

I read that when capturing, if FCP notices time code breaks it will default into capturing as 29.97 and mess up the capture. I've tried capturing in small pieces to avoid this but it won't make a difference.

The strange part is, the footage is 23.98 if I open it in Quicktime or Cinema Tools, but if I import into FCP it's reading it as 29.97 again regardless.

While I'm at it, final cut seems to be really finicky with the captures. I manually set the time code in the camera at the beginning of each tape, and there are no time code breaks in the tape, but final cut will experience them regardless.

Does anyone have suggestions or know what is going wrong? Any workarounds? Like I said it isn't happening all the time, I'd say 80% of the tapes are coming out fine. It's extremely frustrating. Thanks in advance.
Mitchell Stookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 10:58 AM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,730
Images: 15
What are your capture-settings for the project? Do they match the frame-rate/aspect you shot in?

Check out the posts from Barry Green; he is the 24PA master for both DVX100/HVX200.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 04:44 PM   #3
Better than Halle Berry
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 435
Try capturing in smaller chunks as well.

Noah Kadner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 06:39 PM   #4
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,157
FCP 24PA capture is buggy. used to work perfect. best thing is to load as 29.97 then use cinema tools to strip out the extra frames. ugly workaround, but it will get the job done. it will not recompress the frames when doing this, it will copy the original bits so its a lossless process
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:46 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network