How much memory on Mac Pro for FCS2, Avid MC, and Photoshop? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2008, 12:36 AM   #1
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
How much memory on Mac Pro for FCS2, Avid MC, and Photoshop?

Never owned a Mac, so I'm new to all this. Looking at getting a Mac Pro in the basic 2GB configuration with an NVIDIA video card. Wondering if it's worth it to get more memory to increase performance, and if there's a point of diminishing returns. Will be running FCS2, Avid Media Composer, and Photoshop.
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 01:16 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 454
You'll definitely want more RAM. There is a point of diminishing returns, but where that is depends on your typical workflow. RAM is so cheap anymore that it probably makes the best sense to at least triple your total to 6 GB. That's what I run with, and I'm quite happy with the results on my system. Just make sure you're matching the types - use the same speed RAM for all of your chips.

If you're doing lots of RAM intensive stuff, or you tend to have lots of RAM-hungry apps open with tons of files open, you might want even more.
Eric Darling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 07:23 AM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brighton
Posts: 92
i recently got a new mac pro with the 512 nvidia card.. opted for 4gb of ram which suits me fine and i use fcp and after effects a lot.

if you can afford more, go for it but i wouldnt buy it from apple, they charge a fortune. Either buy some extra and put it in yourself or get a reseller to do it for you

best of luck, and enjoy the mac

Stick Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 07:35 AM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,730
Images: 15

What Eric said... and: You'll want a video card with a minimum of 512MB of VRAM because many of the updated FCS apps use the GPU for processing filters, especially FxPlugins.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2008, 09:57 AM   #5
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kenosha WI
Posts: 65
Adding memory is relatively cheap and certainly easy. Keep in mind that many applications won't see more than 2GB (written as 32-bit applications). Photoshop will see around 3.7 and use even more as scratch. Another thing to consider is that you always have at least two apps running: the one you are working with and the OS. At that point, 4GB of RAM is good. Add another open app and 6GB is good.

If you go to Applications > Utilities > and open Activity Monitor at the end of a typical workday, you can check how many page-outs (swaps) you have had. A higher percentage (vs page-ins) means you could benefit from more memory, a lower percentage means not as much benefit. A swap is when the computer runs out of RAM and uses the hard drive.

Mike Bisom is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:58 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network