FCP Un-Renders! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 1st, 2008, 05:56 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 233
FCP Un-Renders!

After I export (when using QT Conversion) the timeline seems to revert to being unrendered!!! Why would this happen?
__________________
www.spreefilms.com - Give me a museum and I'll fill it!
Steve Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2008, 04:36 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 786
I had exactly the same thing happen during the week when using QuickTime conversion to export a still image. It took over 20 minutes to re-render the sequence. Perhaps it only happens with QuickTime conversion? I've had no problems exporting as a QuickTime movie or exporting using Compressor.

I've no idea why it happens, but my current "workaround" to protect my renders (if I needed to use QuickTime conversion again) would be:

1/ Copy the sequence in the Browser (Command C) and then paste in the Browser (Command V). (And perhaps give the copied sequence a different name.)
2/ Double-click the copied sequence in the Browser to open it in the Timeline.
3/ Export using QuickTime conversion from the copied sequence and lose the renders in the copied sequence (and thus protecting your renders in the original sequence).
4/ When done, go to the Browser and delete the copied sequence.
David Knaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2008, 06:53 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 233
Does anyone else have any ideas? This seems like a major problem, or is it only happening to a small few??
__________________
www.spreefilms.com - Give me a museum and I'll fill it!
Steve Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2008, 06:55 PM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
It would help to know the environment you're in: What version FCP and QT?
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2008, 07:16 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lane View Post
It would help to know the environment you're in: What version FCP and QT?
Hi Robert!
I am running the latest (I think): FCP = 6.0.4 and QT 7.5. I think I actually figured out the issue... I was in an HDV 1080i60 timeline, but I had changed the sequence settings so that the render controls were using ProRes422 instead of HDV. It was with these settings that I was experiencing the problem.

I then set the sequence video encoder to ALSO be ProRess422 and then re-rendered and then re-exported (QT conversion) and my render stayed in tact! Maybe you can confirm or deny this for me, but I think that if your sequence video encoder settings don't match your render encoder settings, than a QT CONVERSION (not QT movie or Compressor export) will make your sequence un-rendered. Sorry that was a rambling mouthful!
-Steve
__________________
www.spreefilms.com - Give me a museum and I'll fill it!
Steve Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2008, 07:48 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 786
I was using FCP 6.0.4, QT 7.5, native HDV720p25 sequence with the rendering set to ProRes 422.

It looks like you nailed it, Steve.
David Knaggs is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network