looking for a HDcam recorder in Paris, France at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 2nd, 2008, 07:57 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 210
looking for a HDcam recorder in Paris, France

Hi,

I'm about to send a shot movie to the HD Film Festival, taking place in Paris.
They require the short to be on a HDCam tape.
Questions :

- Is there someone from France (better in Paris) that could do this for "free" or really cheap as we have no money (it's a 20mins long movie). I already have the tape.
- What is the best solution to go out from FinalCutPro to a HDCam tape ? Should I export the movie in a special codec ?

Many thanks.
__________________
DoP, Video/Camera assistant
http://www.lecentre.net/blog
Sebastien Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2008, 11:03 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 210
OK !
I now have the HDcam deck thanks to a generous rental service I can't say the name here :)

Anyone have any good advice on how to encode before ingest, or how will I be able to go out from the mac into the HDcam deck ? I never played with such a configuration.

Thanks.
__________________
DoP, Video/Camera assistant
http://www.lecentre.net/blog
Sebastien Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2008, 01:08 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 299
I'm assuming that your not doing the edit to tape yourself from your own edit bay. If you are talking about bringing a quicktime to a post house that will dump it to tape for you then you need to create a self contained quicktime. This can be found under file>export>quicktime movie. Everything should be defualted "same as source" except there is a check box near the bottom that needs to be checked to make it self contained. This will give you a quicktime that is an exact copy of your timeline. No compression or anything is done just a copy and paste of sorts. From there just put it on a harddrive and bring it to the post facility. Make sure if cutting in pro res or ex xdcam that the post house is using the newest final cut.

If you have a I/O card with HD SDI and a fast raid then that is something else entirely.
James Brill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2008, 02:33 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Brill View Post
I'm assuming that your not doing the edit to tape yourself from your own edit bay. If you are talking about bringing a quicktime to a post house that will dump it to tape for you then you need to create a self contained quicktime. This can be found under file>export>quicktime movie. Everything should be defualted "same as source" except there is a check box near the bottom that needs to be checked to make it self contained. This will give you a quicktime that is an exact copy of your timeline. No compression or anything is done just a copy and paste of sorts. From there just put it on a harddrive and bring it to the post facility. Make sure if cutting in pro res or ex xdcam that the post house is using the newest final cut.
Thank you for the tip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Brill View Post
If you have a I/O card with HD SDI and a fast raid then that is something else entirely.
In fact, I don't have a HD-SDI card in my old G5. For the moment I just found someone with a HDCam deck. So I need a way to feed it. So, let's say I find a HD-SDI card...
Something I don't know (sorry to be naive) is how it work ?
Do I just have to plus the HD-SDI out to the HD-SDI in of the deck, hit record on the deck and play on the computer ?
If this is true, I will need a computer able to play the movie in realtime at fullres. This is not the case with my G5. So, i'm screwed ?

I'm actualy trying to find a company having everything from the computer to the deck. But any help is welcome.

Thanks.
__________________
DoP, Video/Camera assistant
http://www.lecentre.net/blog
Sebastien Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2008, 04:08 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 210
Hi,

I finaly got someone with the hardware.
Many thanks to all that replied.
__________________
DoP, Video/Camera assistant
http://www.lecentre.net/blog
Sebastien Thomas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network