Editing QT files ??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 4th, 2008, 12:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 123
Editing QT files ???

Anyone know of a program that will let me edit the properties of a QT file... like fthe rame rate???

I know... why would you want to do that??? Well long story, but I have some footage that has a frame rate of 15fps telecined from an old film. I'd like to use optical flow in motion to double the frame to 30fps but when brought into FCP it still has 15fps tag so come in twice as long. Trying to go get it back to the correct time actually halves the number of frames. I know there are other ways to get to 30 frames, but motion's optical flow gives a very nice smooth doubling.

Thanks in advance,

Mark
Mark Keck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2008, 02:27 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Cinema Tools, which ships with FCS2 should help you out.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2008, 06:47 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 123
Thanks Shaun, that sort of worked. However, Cinema Tools quartered the resolution... went from 1920x1080 to 960x540. What's with that??? I couldn't find any presets or setting that should have caused that. Really makes no sense as the file size is exactly the same. Maybe some other tag got changed that shouldn't have. Good thing I have a backup of the file.

Mark
Mark Keck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2008, 08:30 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Sorry Mark. SHould have mentioned the change to the file is semi-permanent and to change a COPY. Not sure what happened with the resolution change. I'm FAR from versed in Cinema Tools. I've used it once successfully and that was an interesting experience... Hopefully someone else will chime in.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2008, 06:59 PM   #5
DV Creators
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 91
You could try JES Deinterlacer:

Home Page of JES

I have not tried something similar with it, but I think it's able to change the frame rate of a QT movie.
Josh Mellicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2008, 12:46 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Indeed, cinema tools can do this. Although, this goes beyond a standards conform. Pop over to apples ct forum and do a search. As far as affecting your movies resolution, I've never heard of this.
-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network