PC types cannot see my vid? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2008, 01:03 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Salisbury Maryland
Posts: 161
PC types cannot see my vid?

In an effort to simplify ..and maximize the quality of a video of a young motocross rider wearing my camera rig on his chest .. rather than FCE, I simply used QTPro to make a copy of the raw video and pop out this mov file: http://wetstuff.com/movie/dantheman.mov

I took the file - hung it on one of my sites and have e-mailed and posted the link. All I get are grumblings that Bill Gates says that a PC needs something more than just QT-for-PC to see it? ...but it plays perfectly fon my Mac?!

I tried making an .avi... Yeech! it's 1/3rd the size and all pixelated. dvcCast just gives me more .mov options ..so I am stuck.

Any thoughts? Thanks.

Jim


..
Jim Cancil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 02:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 640
Yup, I have that problem.

"Quicktime is missing software required to perform this operation. Unfortunately, it is not available on the Quicktime server." Ya gotta love that response.

I also occasionally get a screen that looks like it is playing but there is nothing but a white screen with no audio.
Greg Laves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 02:07 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Cancil View Post
In an effort to simplify ..and maximize the quality of a video of a young motocross rider wearing my camera rig on his chest .. rather than FCE, I simply used QTPro to make a copy of the raw video and pop out this mov file: http://wetstuff.com/movie/dantheman.mov

I took the file - hung it on one of my sites and have e-mailed and posted the link. All I get are grumblings that Bill Gates says that a PC needs something more than just QT-for-PC to see it? ...but it plays perfectly fon my Mac?!

I tried making an .avi... Yeech! it's 1/3rd the size and all pixelated. dvcCast just gives me more .mov options ..so I am stuck.

Any thoughts? Thanks.

Jim


..
Yea, I have some thoughts...

1. Try encoding the video with a standards based codec instead of a proprietary one. You used Xvid which nearly NO ONE has installed. That is not a Mac/PC issue, that is just a poor choice of codec.

2. Learn how AVI's work if you want to share with PCs. They are much like quicktime files. You can use an incredible variety of codecs to make either an AVI or a QT file. Some codecs encode nicely and will play fine on either platform.

3. Whether you encode in FCE or QTPro doesn't matter as long as you select a compatible codec file.

Next time you do the encode, try MJeg or PNG as the codec type. Both give very clean results and are nearly universal. Or create an h.264 mp4 file. That would be even better.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 03:06 PM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Jim,

If you want to create the greatest cross-platform videos for all to see then encode them with Flash. Every current web-browser has Flash components built-in or, can be installed in seconds. You'll also find the video quality to be equal to and often surpass comparable QT files of the same data size.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 03:25 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Salisbury Maryland
Posts: 161
Perrone: I've done some in h.264 ..but they show up on my desktop as iTune files?! ...maybe they don't on a PC?

Robert: I remember reading - 'use Flash with small files'. This is a 3+min video at about 280megs. ...but, I'll look into it.

Thanks guys.


j i m
Jim Cancil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 03:58 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
Well it is xvid in a .mov.

I played it fine with VLC.

They probably just need to get a good codec pack to watch it. K-Lite Media pack is one I used to use.

Another solution is to use h.264. Its small and looks better and can be played in flash. It does take a little longer to encode but it looks nice. Here is the file which is now 48.6MB down from 84.5MB

Here is a re-encode into .mp4 with h.264.

http://www.simplethoughtproductions....heman-h264.mp4

If they have itunes/quicktime this will play.

but if they have flash, so will this:

Dantheman-h264.mp4 in flash
__________________
Simple Thought Productions - Life @ 30,000 Words per second

Last edited by Josh Chesarek; September 15th, 2008 at 04:31 PM.
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 03:59 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Cancil View Post
Perrone: I've done some in h.264 ..but they show up on my desktop as iTune files?! ...maybe they don't on a PC?

j i m
That's because you have iTunes associated with mp4 file types. That is specific to your computer, not everyone else's.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 04:37 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Salisbury Maryland
Posts: 161
Perrone: Granted ..I sorta thought that. G.D. iPhoto wants to open every video I bring aboard! I have to shut down the auto features of these programs because they fight for everything.

Josh: Wow... your h.264 looks real. I had QTPro output it to h.264 and it created a 11meg vid that looks as if it was made from wooden blocks.

I'll go try FCE in the am. Thanks for showing it's possible. I just need dig a harder.

Thanks agin.
Jim Cancil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 05:10 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Cancil View Post
Perrone: Granted ..I sorta thought that. G.D. iPhoto wants to open every video I bring aboard! I have to shut down the auto features of these programs because they fight for everything.

Josh: Wow... your h.264 looks real. I had QTPro output it to h.264 and it created a 11meg vid that looks as if it was made from wooden blocks.

I'll go try FCE in the am. Thanks for showing it's possible. I just need dig a harder.

Thanks agin.
I highly recomend the free tool known as ffmpeg. It is what I used.

ffmpegx is a front end for mac users. winFF is another for windows. Or just get it and run it via command line! :-D
__________________
Simple Thought Productions - Life @ 30,000 Words per second
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2008, 05:29 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
FYI, none of the three versions posted so far in this discussion works on my iPod Touch. What encoding settings does YouTube use which does work?
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2008, 05:43 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Shaw View Post
FYI, none of the three versions posted so far in this discussion works on my iPod Touch. What encoding settings does YouTube use which does work?
I think the one I posted was over limits. I can make one that does work natively without needing to be recompressed. I think ffmpeg even makes it easy by having a mode for ipod to make sure the low baseline and such are used.
__________________
Simple Thought Productions - Life @ 30,000 Words per second
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2008, 12:13 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Salisbury Maryland
Posts: 161
Big thanks Josh... ffmpeg did it. Man, is that simple to use..when you find the right output?! I'll need to sort all the various outputs ...but I got a .ff.mov to play within IE on a PC w/o browser add-ons. Thanks again.

j i m
Jim Cancil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2008, 05:46 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
Great news. Share the knowledge man :) Also, if you want to "stream" the file also known as allowing progresive downloads you need to move the ATOMs to the front of the file. There is a tool out there called QT Fast start that can do it for you. That way they do not have to have IE download the whole file before it plays.
__________________
Simple Thought Productions - Life @ 30,000 Words per second
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network