From HDV 1080i to NTSC Broadcast at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 17th, 2008, 10:26 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 79
From HDV 1080i to NTSC Broadcast

Hello All,

I am editing 2 :30 PSAs that were filmed with the Sony Z7U in HDV and wanted your tips on an HDV to NTSC Broadcast workflow?

After using Log and Transfer to import the footage, here are the movie specs (viewed in Quicktime's Movie Inspector):

Format: Apple HDV 1080i60, 1440 x 1080
(1888 x 1062), Millions
16-bit Integer (Big Endian), Left, 48.000 kHz
16-bit Integer (Big Endian), Right, 48.000 kHz

FPS: 29.97

Data Rate: 26.64 mbits / s

Normal Size: 1888 x 1062

--

Now, when I drop it into FCP and it auto-adjusts the sequence, here are the settings that FCP gives me:

Frame Size: 1440 x 1080

Aspect Ratio: HD (1440x1080) (16:9)

Pixel Aspect Ratio: HD (1440x1080) [Anamorphic 16:9 UNCHECKED]

Field Dominance: Upper (Odd)

Editing Timebase: 29.97

Quicktime Video Settings

Compressor: HDV 1080i60
Quality 100%

Audio 48kHz 16-bit Channel Grouped.

--

So what's the best way to make this look good on a Digibeta? Anybody have this workflow experience?

Much appreciated,

John
Attached Thumbnails
From HDV 1080i to NTSC Broadcast-2.jpg  
Attached Images
 
John Lofton IV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2008, 09:40 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 79
What's up?

Has nobody gone from HDV to NTSC Broadcast before?

I'm using FCP 6.0.4 , is it safe to say a downconvert to DV / NTSC will make this footage acceptable for broadcast (after a good C.C. , of course) ?

Thanks,

John
John Lofton IV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2008, 09:55 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Use Compressor or take the entire finished sequence and drop it into a new NTSC SD sequence and render. That's what I have done and the results were satisfactory for me and the client however we were using the DV codec. The question is how are you getting the finished render onto DigiBeta?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 12:42 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 79
Hey

Thanks, William.

My best guess is to down convert to a standard NTSC, uncompressed quicktime, drop it in a new sequence and hope it can output successfully to Digibeta... I'm still working on it.

Thanks!

John
John Lofton IV is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network