V1U with FCS2 and Aliasing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 15th, 2008, 10:05 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 32
V1U with FCS2 and Aliasing

Hi All,

I know there is TONS of information out there on workflows for the V1U and FCS2, but I've read so much of it at this point and heard so many different points of view that I'm just at a loss now:-(

I have a project I shot on the V1U, 24p, Cinema Picture Profile.

I'm editing with FCS2 6.0.4, on a MacPro 2x3 Dual Core with 4GB memory and a HD Cinema Display.

I captured in FCS 6.0.4 with these settings:
Sequence: HDV - 1080i60
Capture: HDV
Device Control: HDV Firewire

I know from looking at my footage (which unfortunately I've already edited...don't ask my why I went ahead and did this, knowing it looked crummy) that these are the wrong settings. The quality in general is terrible, and the aliasing is absolutely HORRIBLE.

From reading this: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/sony-hvr-...cp-6-02-a.html

It's my understanding that the proper workflow is:
24p/60i on tape: Capture to the 24p Apple Intermediate Codec or Apple ProRes 422 codec, then output to the HVR-V1 camcorder in 24p/60i mode.

So, I have two questions.
1. Will the workflow above work properly and give me footage without the aliasing?

2. Which is best, AIC or ProRes?

3. Obviously I need to re-capture. Is there a way to do a batch capture only using clips used in my current timeline, so that everything automatically matches to what I've edited with the new footage, or do I have to start over from scratch?

ANY help/advice is much appreciated.

Katie Mims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2008, 12:34 PM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 32
Hi all,

Just to make sure I haven't lost my mind, I went back and looked at my footage clips in QuickTime, just to make sure I was right, but the artifacts are still there. It looks like a combination of interlacing and aliasing.

I definitely shot in 24p, NOT 24pA. No question there.

When I click through the frames, I end up with three frames that look good like this: http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3049/...6cdf5085_o.jpg

And two that look like this: http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3208/...330318ff_o.jpg

When I look at everything edited in FCS, it looks absolutely horrible. Infinitely worse than what is pictured in the photo above. I tried multiple sequence settings, and I can't seem to find anything that looks right.

Ideas? What have I done wrong somewhere along the way?

What settings do other V1U users use?

Katie Mims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 01:53 AM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 52
Hi Katie,

I also got that same flaw in some footage I edited in FCP when I converted to SD from HDV captured in apple Inter. codec. Everything looked fine in editing. But the rendered file looks like yours.

I would like to know if you have already resolved your issue and what you ended up doing.

Jeff Turkali is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network