Using FCS2 on a Macbook Pro - with a larger secondary display at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 19th, 2008, 10:08 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Using FCS2 on a Macbook Pro - with a larger secondary display

Hi,

I'm contemplating running FCS2 on a Macbook Pro with a larger second display attached. And I'm wondering if it's possible to make the second display monitor into the primary monitor. By primary I mean, so that Finder and all the other application windows default to the attached monitor. Basically, I'd like the Finder and FCS2 to have it's main functions defaulting to the larger secondary display, and then I'd move windows back to the smaller Macbook Pro screen as needed.

I went to an Apple store today, to make sure I could do this. They had it a setup to test, but nobody could figure out how to set the Finder to default to the secondary display. Everything kept opening in the Macbook Pro's screen.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2008, 10:48 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC Area.
Posts: 550
when the larger display is connected open up display preferences and select arrangement, then when you see the two monitors (they will be to scale so you will easily know which on is which), drag the menu bar representation from the mbp screen to the external one. It is now the default screen for all applications.
Louis Maddalena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2008, 05:53 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Yes. It's trivial.

As Louis said, you use the display preferences to arrange the monitors and drag/drop the system menu to the display you want to be the primary one and then close the preferences window. If you ever unplug the external monitor, the system is smart enough to realize that and will work normally. When you hook an external monitor up again, you will have to reconfigure the displays again.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2008, 12:06 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest House View Post
When you hook an external monitor up again, you will have to reconfigure the displays again.
I haven't plugged my MacBook Pro into my Cinema Display for awhile, but I *thought* it remembered my menu bar preferences between uses.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2008, 12:26 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
For what it's worth...
It even remembers what wallpaper you choose...
For different projectors and different monitors I have different wallpapers...
Comes in handy when you need a black screen at church instead of my North Carolina Football wallpaper that I have at home.

Jason
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network