6GB of RAM in a Macbook Pro? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 31st, 2008, 11:22 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 16
6GB of RAM in a Macbook Pro?

I just learned that some folks are using 6 GB of RAM in MBPs that are supposed to only work with 4 GB. In my MBP (early 2008), I am running 2 2 GB chips. I am considering replacing one chip with a 4 GB chip. 8 GB does not work so well, apparently.

Here is the discussion link where I learned of it:
6GB in MacBook Pros; Yes it works. - 8GB... well... - Mac Forums

I'm interested in having 2 more GB of RAM since I often use VMware Fusion to run XP, and I commonly have FCP, Compressor, and Photoshop open at once (OK, Firefox, too).

There is disagreement as to whether the extra 2 GB of RAM is worth the hit you take not running in dual channel mode (two matched pairs are needed for dual channel). Assuming that the extra 2 GBs keep you from accessing your hard drive, I THINK there would be speed gains with the extra RAM.

Any experiences out there?
David Bourne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 11:57 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wescosville, PA
Posts: 90
If you are looking for improvements in Final Cut you will see none. If I am not mistaken Final Cut only can use 4 gigs.
Chris Leffler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2008, 01:05 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Leffler View Post
If you are looking for improvements in Final Cut you will see none. If I am not mistaken Final Cut only can use 4 gigs.
what he said
Pete Cofrancesco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2008, 02:14 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Guys, David could not have made it any clearer that his interest was in the extra RAM for running multiple apps simultaneously + a Windows XP virtual machine

Quote:
I'm interested in having 2 more GB of RAM since I often use VMware Fusion to run XP, and I commonly have FCP, Compressor, and Photoshop open at once (OK, Firefox, too).
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2008, 10:45 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 16
Thanks for the replies.

So, if Chris and Pete are right and FCP can use up to 4 GB of RAM, then a MBP with 6 GB is going to run better. The OS has to use RAM, too. I'm not sure how much the OS needs, but I'm guessing the 2 extra GBs will help.

If I decide to go from 4 to 6, I will do some tests with 4 and then repeat them with 6. The rendering speed without the dual channel benefit of matching pairs is my main concern.

Thanks again,

DB
David Bourne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2008, 06:55 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mammoth Lakes CA
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Bourne View Post
There is disagreement as to whether the extra 2 GB of RAM is worth the hit you take not running in dual channel mode (two matched pairs are needed for dual channel). Assuming that the extra 2 GBs keep you from accessing your hard drive, I THINK there would be speed gains with the extra RAM.

Any experiences out there?
"late 2008" MacBook Pro - 4GB vs 6GB RAM config

has some tests on this. Bottom line is that not using two matched pairs is at most a very minor hit.
David Sholle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2008, 12:48 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Bourne View Post
So, if Chris and Pete are right and FCP can use up to 4 GB of RAM, then a MBP with 6 GB is going to run better. The OS has to use RAM, too. I'm not sure how much the OS needs, but I'm guessing the 2 extra GBs will help.

If I decide to go from 4 to 6, I will do some tests with 4 and then repeat them with 6. The rendering speed without the dual channel benefit of matching pairs is my main concern.

Thanks again,

DB
The question is whether the programs you want to run can "see" the extra 2 GB and whether the OS can properly distribute the tasks to the RAM. Photoshop might be a problem. Right now Apple doesn't support over 4 GB in the laptop line and there might be a reason in Leopard's programming.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network