Client has FCP 5.1.4 and wants to view EX1 footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2008, 08:55 AM   #1
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Client has FCP 5.1.4 and wants to view EX1 footage

Short of them upgrading to FCP 6 (which I recommended), what else can they do to view my EX1 raw footage? They want me to put about 10-12 hours of raw footage on DVD, which isn't part of our agreement. And I refuse to let them rip footage from a DVD to edit with.

They can't even open the clips in QuickTime 7.5.5, but I can without a problem. I really don't want to tie my computer up for a while putting this stuff to DVD, so if there's an application out there they can use to open and view EX1 footage in Final Cut Pro 5.1.4, please let me know. MPEG StreamClip?

Thanks,

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 11:02 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,012
10-12 hours is a lot...

When clients want to review footage before I have a rough cut, I tell them that they are welcome to come over to my studio and spend all the time that they want, reviewing the footage on our systems. But that no footage can leave the studio until the project is completed. I'll set them up and they can make all the notes they want, and I can go about my day doing other things, but if they need my attention, I'll charge them for consultation time.

Another option that I use is to do a smaller web-style low-quality compression of project previews, using an unuseable codec, like sorenson 3 and then FTP it to a site where they can then download and preview. But to do that with 10-12 hours of work is unreasonable. Unless you charge them something for the compression and upload.

You can also export an XML file, using the Apple XML Interchange Format, and that would allow them to use an earlier version of FCP to view the files, but this still assumes having the master files on a hard drive for them to link back to, so you would still be allowing them access to copying files. So that's kind of a non-solution.
Meryem Ersoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 11:09 AM   #3
Better than Halle Berry
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 435
Have they tried the Sony XDCAM EX transfer software? That should at least let them view the proxies. Why not just charge them for a transfer to a format they can use such as a low-res DV. You can easily setup an overnight render in Compressor in like five minutes and charge them a little something.

What's the next step? Are you intending to charge them for editing? If so, it's only fair they be allowed to view their dailies in total- either at your place or at theirs. If you're not planning to edit for them then you owe them all the more a usable version of the footage- with or without their upgrading to FCP6.

Noah
Noah Kadner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 11:28 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noah Kadner View Post
If you're not planning to edit for them then you owe them all the more a usable version of the footage- with or without their upgrading to FCP6.
IF that was part of the agreement. I supply what I was requested to supply at the figure I quote. If in hindsight the client realizes they need something different, I reserve the right to charge for my time.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 11:50 AM   #5
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
The deal was for me to shoot and edit (and I ended up producing and co-writing), and they keep the raw footage. I handed them a refined cut the other day, and they wanted to view the footage to see if there was more stuff.

I have no notes, so it's difficult to do anymore revisions.

Thanks, guys. And hat tip to Noah for the XDCAM software!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 11:56 AM   #6
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
ps-I gave them the processed QuickTime movies. I can open them on various computers in QT 7.5.5 (player and pro), but they can't. Is it because the computers have FCP 6.0.x?

Will any of the programs show that?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 11:59 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
Don't tell me its a wedding. lol Like someone said it depends on what you initially promised the client. Explain to them the lengthy process of converting the footage and ask to be compensated for your time.

In addition you could avoid encoding dvds and simply transcode it from XDcam to HDV/DV format that fcp5 can read and put it on an external hard drive. Is this so he can send you the timecode breaks or does he want to edit the final piece himself?
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:23 PM   #8
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Not a wedding--local reality show.

Okay, here's my new question... How can I take ALL the clips, put it in Compressor, and just compress them all as regular DV QuickTimes? Do I have to drop them all onto a timeline? I want individual transcoded clips.

Thanks,

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:42 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
I'm not sure if Compressor accepts XDcam format but give it a try. Otherwise use fcp batch export.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:44 PM   #10
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Do I need to put the clips onto a timeline, or can I do it directly from capture scratch and just "drag and drop" the files into compressor? Will it make individual clips or one big QT movie? I've never attempted this before; I usually use File, Export, QT Movie or QT Conversion.

Thanks,

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network