Final Cut won't open! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 1st, 2008, 02:41 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 28
Final Cut won't open!

Final cut wouldn't open, so I had to install the fcp update. Did that, and now I can open the program (by the way, also upgraded quicktime pro to 7.5.5). The only problem is that HD footage plays back with a stutter, and if i have rt set to safe, I get constant dropped frames. I play the same footage back on another identical macbook or in quicktime and have no problem.

Any clue as to what might be going on here? I had been editing with it the day before thanksgiving with no problems. I packed my laptop and drive up, drove to michigan, and when I got there the program would not open and I've had the aforementioned problems since. I 'm at my wits end. Any clues?
William Holland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 08:42 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 233
tried trashing prefs?
restarting the computer?

Sounds like a data rate issue?
At a loss, but thought I'd suggest the basics.
__________________
always learning
www.phillippalacios.com
Phillip Palacios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:41 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 28
thanks

i trashed all the prefs, took quicktime back to 7.3, and restarted. I'm upgrading to leopard and going to see how it works out. should have more details tomorrow.
William Holland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 12:01 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 28
reinstall

I reinstalled the os, and everything is working fine. Now, does anyone know how to reinstall quicktime pro? do i have to call apple and harass them to re-authorize my software?
William Holland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 01:06 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 233
should be qt pro with fcs... i never "purchased" qt pro, as fcs installs the pro "key" when you install it.
did you re-install fcs as well?
__________________
always learning
www.phillippalacios.com
Phillip Palacios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2008, 10:28 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 28
hmm...

I talked to my administrator and it turned out he had the key for my computer. Good times. Got it working!
William Holland is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network