Constant need to render? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 4th, 2008, 05:33 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Angers, France
Posts: 181
Constant need to render?

I have an iMAC 24 inch with 2 gig ram which I purchased in June 2008.

I am running Final Cut Studio 2.

Whenever I am editing in Final Cut Pro I am finding I have to render the most basic of edits and effects.

Are there any easy solutions to get around this?
EG: Is more RAM a solution?

Or is this one of the draw backs of using Final Cut Pro on the iMAC 24 inch?

Thanks
Simon
Simon Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 06:21 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 259
Have you set real time playback (the RT drop down at the top left of the timeline) to unlimited RT? If you have, make sure playback video quality and frame rate are set to dynamic.

N
Nick Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 07:08 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Angers, France
Posts: 181
Thanks Nick,

I will check this setting when I get back infront of the computer.

Just a further question:
You mentioned: "make sure playback video quality and frame rate are set to dynamic."

How does one do this?
What does this actually do?
What are the benefits of doing this?

Thanks
Simon
Simon Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 08:57 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 259
They are options further down the same drop down menu. Setting them to dynamic just means that for playback, FCP will adjust the quality and framerate to give the best the hardware can support. This has no effect on the final product, which is always at full quality and may take some time to render.
Nick Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 09:02 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
As well Simon, make sure the Sequence settings match the media settings. For example, if you are editing NTSC DV at 60i, make sure you aren't in a PAL DV at 50i or 24P sequence, which will always require rendering.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network