Jagged edges - FCP/Compressor/Encore - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 25th, 2008, 07:38 AM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek Nickell View Post
I cant remember what HDV is at.
Should be the same as DV as both are 25mbps ASSUMING you've captured the media as HDV and not as an intermediate codec.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2008, 03:55 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
I just don't see why I would render it twice. When things aren't working it sounds like a good step though.
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2008, 10:32 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: LA/SFV
Posts: 155
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaun Roemich View Post
Should be the same as DV as both are 25mbps ASSUMING you've captured the media as HDV and not as an intermediate codec.
Thought so since it is recorded to MiniDV tape, just didnt want to give false info.
Derek Nickell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2008, 10:34 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: LA/SFV
Posts: 155
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana Salsbury View Post
I just don't see why I would render it twice. When things aren't working it sounds like a good step though.
It sounded like your stuff wasnt working. Did you try it? And you are only rendering once and transcoding once. Render the completed timeline to HDV when you export and transcode to MPEG-2 in compressor.
Derek Nickell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2008, 09:38 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
Thanks Derek. I got it to work the way you suggested and it saved the day. I still need to do some tests to try to get better quality. Now that all the deadlines are over I'll have some time to explore it.
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2008, 04:26 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: LA/SFV
Posts: 155
Images: 2
Not a problem. I try and stick my 2c in there when I can.
Derek Nickell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network