HDV Codec Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 13th, 2009, 04:31 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 358
HDV Codec Question

Hi Guys

I have a question about capturing HDV do I use the pro res or pro res HQ codec to capture or just the standard HDV codec

I did a couple of test firstly using the HDV codec i noticed my data rate was around 3MB/sec and then i did a test with the pro res HQ and my data rate was around the 18MB/sec

Is there a difference which one should i use? I also noticed you don't get a log & Capture window with the Prores HQ setting as soon as you press log & Capture it starts capturing. One thing i loved was the scene detection awesome

regards

Robert
Robert Bec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 04:55 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
HDV/ProRes workflow options for FCP have come up several times in this forum. You will likely find you answer by following the link in http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/non-linea...p-6-0-5-a.html
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 01:41 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bec View Post
Hi Guys

I have a question about capturing HDV do I use the pro res or pro res HQ codec to capture or just the standard HDV codec

I did a couple of test firstly using the HDV codec i noticed my data rate was around 3MB/sec and then i did a test with the pro res HQ and my data rate was around the 18MB/sec

Is there a difference which one should i use? I also noticed you don't get a log & Capture window with the Prores HQ setting as soon as you press log & Capture it starts capturing. One thing i loved was the scene detection awesome

regards

Robert
ProRes should be more than enough for editing HDV. ProResHQ would be good if you were recording in a higher quality tape format.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network